New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
robak1965
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by robak1965 »

Is there a way to specify which device?

I have 3 Quatro's, and it only polls one of them.

Nevermind, I went back and re-read the OP

mike808
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:30 pm
Device ID: (K) Extend 10522C9A ; Quatro 10740D6C
Location: US

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by mike808 »

The link pulls up my Quattro, and I'll have to know the ID to pull up my Extend. I prefer the all-in-one page at my.hdhomerun.com, which also has my DVR, all the firmware versions and channels tuned in one page with links to drill down into the device I want to look at more closely.

It would be better if 1) it used TLS (I know that's hard in the private network) and 2) if the page was a consolidated view or at least had links to the other devices. Not sure how one device would "know" about the other devices in order to create the links to them.

therealmatey
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:15 am

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by therealmatey »

I updated my Extend and Connect Quatro a few days ago and I still don’t see them publishing the .local names in mdns. I have multiple devices (mac, iOS, wireless controller, windows, etc.) that support mdns and none see the Hdhomerun devices. I have printers and Apple devices publishing their services just fine.

Any guidance to troubleshoot this further?

cqcq42
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:43 am

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by cqcq42 »

"http://hdhomerun.local" was not working on Firefox, Chrome or Edge until I installed 20200225 firmware which fixed that.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15985
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by nickk »

cqcq42 wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:55 am
"http://hdhomerun.local" was not working on Firefox, Chrome or Edge until I installed 20200225 firmware which fixed that.
Confirming, this is a new feature introduced in 20200225.

Nick

Sion
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by Sion »

nickk wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:44 pm
cqcq42 wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:55 am
"http://hdhomerun.local" was not working on Firefox, Chrome or Edge until I installed 20200225 firmware which fixed that.
Confirming, this is a new feature introduced in 20200225.

Nick
Well, I just replaced my old PRIME with a Connect DUO, and upgraded the firmware to 20200225. No dice. http://hdhomerun.local goes nowhere on any browser. my.hdhomerun.com still works just fine though.

Any ideas on what the problem is?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9116
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by signcarver »

What device is trying to access that page. In some cases a pc (i believe pre win 10) needs iTunes installed.

Sion
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by Sion »

signcarver wrote:
Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:57 pm
What device is trying to access that page. In some cases a pc (i believe pre win 10) needs iTunes installed.
Was that question to me, signcarver?
If so, I'm using Win10 devices (laptops & desktops) as well as Android 10 phone, on several browsers (edge/chromium, chrome, IE, Brave, Firefox). Every single attempt results in some version of the message: "www.hdhomerun.local’s server IP address could not be found."

rpcameron
Posts: 952
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by rpcameron »

signcarver wrote:
Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:57 pm
What device is trying to access that page. In some cases a pc (i believe pre win 10) needs iTunes installed.
I don't think you necessarily need a full iTunes install. Instead, all that is probably needed is the Bonjour Print Services for Windows.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9116
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by signcarver »

did you really add the www. ? and did you make sure to add http:// (without the www,)

For instance on chrome when I just type hdhomerun.local (on a machine that hasn't used such in awhile) it uses https and then pulls up a search page... then I forced http and it brought it up just fine, and also did so anytime after that even without http being typed.

Sion
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by Sion »

signcarver wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:06 am
did you really add the www. ? and did you make sure to add http:// (without the www,)

For instance on chrome when I just type hdhomerun.local (on a machine that hasn't used such in awhile) it uses https and then pulls up a search page... then I forced http and it brought it up just fine, and also did so anytime after that even without http being typed.
Just double checked:
no "www" in front
yes using only http:// .... no 's'
Still nothing.

kmd1970
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 1:34 pm

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by kmd1970 »

hdhomerun.local doesn't work for me either. Tried firefox and chrome. I am on 20200225. HDHomeRun PRIME HDHR3-CC

Image

ebo
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by ebo »

I have 4 HDHRs: 2 HDHR-US Duals, an HDHR4-2US Connect and an HDTC-2US Extend. All have 20200225 firmware and my Win 10 PC has 20200225 software. All are on the same subnet. http://hdhomerun.local finds only the Connect. I'm not surprised that it doesn't work with the Duals but why not the Extend? Meanwhile, http://my.hdhomerun.com sees all of them. What's the difference between how the 2 URLs work?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9116
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by signcarver »

hdhomerun.local only can go to one device on your network and if you have more than one device i would consider it random as to which it is.

To get to the others using .local you must specify with deviceid as in hdhr-xxxxxxxx.local where xxxxxxxx is your deviceID. Usage of .local depends on mdns support.

my.hdhomerun.com is a web site that basically has a script that queries my.hdhomerun.com/discover (most likely using the specific url of whatever that redirects to) which returns a json of any tuner/recording engine that has connected (in the past 24 hours or so) to SD from the same public ip address that requested the page. It then tries to reach out to each of those devices and forms the list from those it could actually contact.

ebo
Posts: 584
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394

Re: New way to access your HDHomeRun device webpage

Post by ebo »

Thanks for the explanation. I see no reason to use hdhomerun.local. Each of my HDHRs has a reserved IP address, with a link to it in my bookmarks. So I just click the link I want to get the same display.

Post Reply