HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
jwolf02
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:57 am

HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Post by jwolf02 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:09 pm

Hello,
I recently moved my HDHR3-US to a different location where our antenna gets much better reception. In the HDHomeRun setup app, the channels scan and show, and I can click on the link to open the stream in my VLC player. However, when I open up the HDHomeRun Live TV app, it doesn't recognize any channels and neither does the HdHomeRun add-on in Kodi.

In the new location, I am not connecting the HDHomeRun directly to the router, but instead to our media center computer. Does this make a difference? I would understand perhaps not being able to recognize the channels over the network on another device, but it doesn't even show channels on the same computer.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8686
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Post by signcarver » Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:25 pm

For legacy devices to work, they must be on recent firmware and a channel scan performed from the full windows setup which notifies SD of the channel lineup... the device must have an internet connection to get/maintain the DeviceAuth from SD which is used by the client in retrieving the lineup from SD.

What it sounds like you are missing is giving the device access to the internet.

jwolf02
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:57 am

Re: HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Post by jwolf02 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:56 am

Thanks signcarver! Not to sound like an idiot, but is this a windows function I need to activate or something through the HDHomeRun setup? Or the router?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8686
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Post by signcarver » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:36 am

I thought you said you connect such directly which in windows usually means to turn on internet connection sharing so the device can connect to the internet through your pc.

Also note that typically when connected in such a way, only that device will see it.

foxbat121
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: HDHR3 Not Recognizing Channels in Live TV App

Post by foxbat121 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:18 am

You can also bridge the two separate networks on Windows PC. If your PC is connected via wired ethernet cable, just use a network switch so that your tuner is connected to the LAN, not the PC directly saving the trouble of need to do Internet Sharing or Bridge the Networks.

Post Reply