HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:24 am

Greetings:

I just got a new Windows 10 PC which I use for everything (w/ a separate HDD for DVR storage). I also got the DVR service, I'm on Spectrum cable internet. However, I noticed that when a lot of bandwidth is being used for downloads (in my case installing software) the HD Homerun TV service doesn't load a picture, and even if I stop all other bandwidth use the TV service throws an error that says "unable to play channel, play restart required." I haven't been able to find bandwidth throttling settings that give Homerun services priority. I've also tried plugging my Prime into the other ethernet port on my PC instead of through my router, but this just gets me a UPNP Discovery error.

Any advice? I enjoyed SD products on my old WMC PC, and this seems to be the last obstacle to getting them working reliably for me.

JDazell
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:19 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JDazell » Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:45 am

Plugging the Prime directly into your second Ethernet port on you Win10 PC will effectively place the Prime on to an alternate network which is isolated from your primary Router network.

Is your network architecture fundamentally the same as when the old PC was connected (In other words, is the new PC using the exact same Ethernet connection as the old PC)? Or have other network components and or Ethernet connections also been changed?

JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:51 am

Is your network architecture fundamentally the same as when the old PC was connected (In other words, is the new PC using the exact same Ethernet connection as the old PC)? Or have other network components and or Ethernet connections also been changed?
Yes, same architecture. Cable Modem to router, router to HD Homerun/desktop/wireless network.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14898
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by jasonl » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:23 pm

Is the network connection between the PC and the router 100Mbit or gigabit? How fast is the download on your Spectrum connection?

JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:06 am

Ethernet connection to router is rated for 2.5 GB. Spectrum speed is 85 MB/s per Ookla.

foxbat121
Posts: 1687
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by foxbat121 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:51 am

To achieve higher speeds, Windows often defaults to no flow control on GB NIC cards. See if that's what it set to on your NIC and try to turn it on and see what happens. The amount of data streamed from tuner should not be that much (usually around 10 to 14 and 20 mbps max).

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14898
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by jasonl » Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:28 pm

Where are you getting 2.5GB from?

JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:45 pm

jasonl wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:28 pm
Where are you getting 2.5GB from?
That's what it says on the RealTec connection. Unfortunately I have no way to test if that's what it can actually do.

Image
foxbat121 wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:51 am
To achieve higher speeds, Windows often defaults to no flow control on GB NIC cards. See if that's what it set to on your NIC and try to turn it on and see what happens. The amount of data streamed from tuner should not be that much (usually around 10 to 14 and 20 mbps max).
Strange. The Intel 1211 (1GB) has a flow control option, but the other port (Realtek 2.5 GB) doesn't. And in any event, I tried it on the Intel 1211 (Flow control was enabled) and it made no difference.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14898
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by jasonl » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:45 pm

In the Network Connections screen, right click on the Ethernet 4 and choose Status, and see what it lists for Speed.

JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:15 pm

jasonl wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:45 pm
In the Network Connections screen, right click on the Ethernet 4 and choose Status, and see what it lists for Speed.
Ah. This one says it's 1.0 GB.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14898
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by jasonl » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:48 pm

First, do you have any firewall, internet security, antimalware, or other software that might be filtering web traffic (and doing a bad job of it)? If so, try setting it to ignore the HDHomeRun app and DVR and the HDHomeRun itself, disable that software, or uninstall it entirely.

If not, try updating to the latest Realtek driver. https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zo ... s-software . If issues persist after that, go into Device Manager > Network adapters > the Realtek one > Advanced and turn off Interrupt Moderation and any offload options it has and see if that helps.

emg60060
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:54 pm

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by emg60060 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 7:39 pm

You can also uncheck power management settings.

JZEsq
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:16 am

Re: HomeRun Prime/DVR & W10 PC - connection/bandwidth problems

Post by JZEsq » Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:17 pm

jasonl wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:48 pm
First, do you have any firewall, internet security, antimalware, or other software that might be filtering web traffic (and doing a bad job of it)? If so, try setting it to ignore the HDHomeRun app and DVR and the HDHomeRun itself, disable that software, or uninstall it entirely.

If not, try updating to the latest Realtek driver. https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zo ... s-software . If issues persist after that, go into Device Manager > Network adapters > the Realtek one > Advanced and turn off Interrupt Moderation and any offload options it has and see if that helps.
No filtering software, but I have found success with turning off Interrupt Moderation and the "offload" functions on the Realtek NIC. Thank you!

Post Reply