Roku app not playing most channels

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
regrossman19
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:51 am

Roku app not playing most channels

Post by regrossman19 » Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:01 pm

Should the current version of the hdhomerun app on latest roku be expected to play content like a firestick? I tried loading it up and whenever it displays the loading bar it load a channel it quits back to the guide before displaying the channel. Firestick works fine.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by NedS » Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:46 pm

Normally yes, but if you are using cable TV/HDHomeRun PRIME then things get complicated. Most cable providers seem to do something to their signal that just slightly does something that the Roku video player doesn't like (all Roku "apps" are just web pages that use the same Roku video player), and causes it to do exactly what you just describe. Sometimes it works, sometimes it just works for some channels, and sometimes no cable channels will work. It depends on the cable provider. I believe we've reported this issue to Roku in hopes that they might update the Roku video player to not balk at the cable TV data, because the actual video itself should be playable, but the ball is in Roku's court right now. They're the only one who can update that video player component on their systems.

On other platforms like the Fire TV and Android TV, we are able to include our own video player in the app itself, and are able to update that independently from the OS of the streaming box/TV.

regrossman19
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:51 am

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by regrossman19 » Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:44 pm

I do use the prime. What hardware do you recommend that will play drm protected like HBO and Starz firestick works for most channels but not HBO. Would mi box be better? Or shield tv?

elabra
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:32 pm
Device ID: Device ID's: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by elabra » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:08 pm

regrossman19 wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:44 pm
I do use the prime. What hardware do you recommend that will play drm protected like HBO and Starz firestick works for most channels but not HBO. Would mi box be better? Or shield tv?
The Shield TV is the Gold Standard. Mi Box worked fine for me and was my daily workhorse for years until an upgrade bricked my boxes.

Definitely go for Shield if you can afford the extra cost.,,,, IMHO.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by NedS » Sat Nov 30, 2019 9:09 pm

Shield is the gold standard, as others have mentioned, but the MiBox is very usable for the most part. It's on sale right now for $40 USD from Walmart, too.

regrossman19
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:51 am

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by regrossman19 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:37 am

One question, when using the firestick, is there anyway to use the voice command to say a channel number and tune directly to it? Right now I need to press down on the remote, arrow over to the search icon, select it and then use the voice button and then press the back arrow and then select the channel from the guide. It would be awesome if you could just say the channel number and it automatically tune to that channel.

regrossman19
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:51 am

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by regrossman19 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:41 am

Also, I tried on an xbox one and the fire stick and both take 2-3 sec for guide to appear? Is that also the case with the Shield or Mi Box? Seems sluggish if thats the case on all platforms.

leerandall
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Roku app not playing most channels

Post by leerandall » Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:24 am

regrossman19 wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:41 am
Also, I tried on an xbox one and the fire stick and both take 2-3 sec for guide to appear? Is that also the case with the Shield or Mi Box? Seems sluggish if thats the case on all platforms.
Yes, on my Shield, there is a 3 to 5 second delay from the time I press an arrow button on the remote until the time the slice pops out to change channels. Once the slice is popped out, though, response is normal.

Post Reply