Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
breezytm
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by breezytm » Fri Nov 22, 2019 6:09 am

Hey gents,

Quick help here. DRM playback seems to have stopped working on one of my shield tv. I enabled the location on the app and normally I should get a notification that it is trying to use it but I did not get that notification.

I enabled diagnostics at 7:57 EST and browse through some channels. Device # 13144FFF

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:55 pm

I cannot tune DRM channels on my Shield either with UI version 1120.

breezytm
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by breezytm » Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:41 pm

It says the client is version 20191025. Is that the same version you have?

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:40 pm

breezytm wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:41 pm
It says the client is version 20191025. Is that the same version you have?
Yes, my app version is 20191025 and the UI version is 1120 (beta).

breezytm
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by breezytm » Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:53 am

I have 2 shield TVs at home and 1 at my parents and 3 miboxes. I will check them all today to see if the issue is widespread. I know my living shield is working fine with DRM.

SD Team, any take on this?

ptmuldoon
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:10 pm
Device ID: 131A3913

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by ptmuldoon » Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:59 am

leerandall wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:55 pm
I cannot tune DRM channels on my Shield either with UI version 1120.
I am not having this problem. But there is a known issue with the App crashing DRM channel on Android 10. What version of Android is your shield running? My Shield is running SW version 8.0.1(32.5.205,75)

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:52 am

Running 8.0.1 as well.

breezytm
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by breezytm » Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:11 pm

I am running version 9 on both shields. Works on one but doesn’t on the other.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by NedS » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:25 am

I'm seeing it on my Shield as well. We will investigate.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by NedS » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:34 am

Try rebooting the Shield after it is done updating.

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:34 am

I am seeing DRM channels again on my Shield. I don't know when they came back, though, since most of the channels I have and watch are non-DRM.

breezytm
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by breezytm » Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:45 am

Still does not work after reboot.

I did find out that DRM channels do work in ATV Live Channels with HDHomeRun app as an input.

Doesn’t make any sense. I know

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8530
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by signcarver » Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:16 am

Just out of curiosity for those experiencing this issue, are you on early access and/or is your shield your DVR and/or doing other things in background (plex server, etc.), also do you have more than one prime and how many enabled channels? How quickly does it fail?

The reason why I ask is that I can't use the new UI with DRM channels longer than a few minutes when I have more than one prime on the network (each has roughly 430 channels + the 75 channels from each quatro). Disable early access and everything works fine. This seems to happen on devices I have tried with 2GB of RAM (including a friend's new shield stick)

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:30 pm

I run the DVR on my Shield Pro 2017 with 2 Primes (402 channels on one, 401 channels on the other), and I'm on the new UI 1122b (beta). After seeing your post, Signcarver, I put on a DRM channel and it's been playing just fine for the last 15 minutes. How long does it take for DRM channels to crash out on your setup? I can let the DRM channel play for a while if you'd like.

leerandall
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Nvidia Shield HDHR App DRM issue

Post by leerandall » Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:38 pm

FYI - The DRM channel has been playing well on my Shield now for about an hour and a half. I'm going to put the Lions/Redskins game back on now.

Post Reply