Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
HenryGab
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:28 pm
Device ID: 15301857 13182F70

Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by HenryGab » Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:57 pm

Title: Recordings of long shows (e.g., football) fail to appear in "Recorded" section until Servio is rebooted

Steps to repro:
1. Setup ServIO to record pre-season football games of a team of your choice.
2. Verify day-of that the game is set to record (shows in tasks lists as highest priority).
3. One hour after game starts, attempt to watch time-shifted (ISSUE A).
4. One day after game started, review logs from Tuner to verify Servio requested and received the http stream

Code: Select all

20190830-01:59:29 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 1013 KCPQDT (auto:231MHz-1)
20190830-01:59:29 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.10.56:33145
20190830-01:59:29 CableCARD: tuner0 1013 KCPQDT (auto:231MHz-1) access = subscribed
[[ … entries omitted … none related to tuner0, none related to channel 1013 … ]]
20190830-06:00:00 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
5. Load the Hdhomerun UI again, to attempt to watch the game the day after it was played (ISSUE B).

Expected Results (ISSUE A):
It is expected that, as soon as the recording begins, the recording will appear in the "Recorded" list.
Preferably, it will show as currently-being-recorded, such as with a red circle overlay.

Expected Results (ISSUE B):
It is expected that, after the recording ends, the recording will appear in the "Recorded" list.

Actual Results (Both A & B):
The recording of the football games did not appear.
During this time, other shorter recordings DID appear after they were recorded.

Other Info:
Note that there is NO viable workaround to enable time-shifted viewing of a currently-ongoing game. However, rebooting the Servio did cause multiple, previously-recorded but not-appearing-in-UI pre-season football games to suddenly appear in the UI.

So why the discrimination against pre-season football?
Is there something different for recordings that are set to record more than 3 hours of HD content?
Is the software verifying a filesize using a 32-bit signed integer somewhere by accident (and thus treating a larger value as negative)?
Is the Servio filled with advanced AI, that perceives that pre-season games don't count, and thus believes they could only be recorded by user error?


Thoughts on this are greatly welcome....

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8351
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by signcarver » Sun Sep 01, 2019 6:00 pm

I have not seen such issue but I tend to check things with my own software. On occasion I have seen client devices cache the result of the recorded_files.json and thus don't update unless they do a proper restart or actually detect some change. In some cases restarting the app or clearing its cache can help but usually when it seems to be problematic it seems to be the device itself at a much lower level decided to cache such results and can take forever to clear and get new (though they should respect the http headers better). But yes some have reported the issue often that one needs to restart the servio to get a refreshed list.

Are you on the latest beta firmware? As though that was to help more with the record engine supporting roku, I have seen it help with other errors (including some issues with the bad early access ui).

HenryGab
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:28 pm
Device ID: 15301857 13182F70

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by HenryGab » Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:25 am

Hi signcarver,

Thanks for the response, and allow me to add missing details based on your questions.
  • Both the Servio and Prime are using firmware version 20190621.
  • I am not using beta firmware, and the risks associated with beta firmware would not work for my family.
  • Client devices have been rebooted during the repro steps.
If there is more I can clarify, please let me know.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15554
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by nickk » Mon Sep 02, 2019 8:15 pm

Can you please turn on "send diagnostic information" on the Servio device webpage and post back with the Device ID of your SERVIO.

You can get to the device webpage from http://my.hdhomerun.com/

Nick

HenryGab
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:28 pm
Device ID: 15301857 13182F70

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by HenryGab » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:19 pm

Sorry for the delay.
Device Info:
HDHomeRun SERVIO Device ID: 15301857, FW 20190621
HDHomeRun PRIME Device ID: 13182F70, FW 20190621

The setting was already enabled to send diagnostics information.

FYI, will update soon, as first regular season game will start 1pm Pacific.

HenryGab
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:28 pm
Device ID: 15301857 13182F70

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by HenryGab » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:07 pm

Good news! The first two regular season games showed without any issue, including time-shifting playback while recording is ongoing.
This is good news, in terms of my family's happiness.

This is less good, in terms of root-causing a bug that prevented a series' episodes from appearing. I hate latent bugs, so I'll follow-up on that in the original thread.

Either way, this thread can be considered closed, as it appears to have been a bug from excessive packet loss, and not something that would be seen in most people's environments.

3579mike777
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:10 pm

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by 3579mike777 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:21 am

My android box for over a day was not showing any of my recordings. I could however see the recordings from my phone and computer. Then I noticed yesterday all of the recordings are available again on the android box again.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Recordings fail to appear -- Servio Bug?

Post by NedS » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:16 pm

Strange that some clients showed everything in your case. Will mention this to the devs.

Post Reply