We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
aslg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 4:55 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by aslg » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:24 pm

I have a HDHomeRun SCRIBE QUATRO.
I just installed the HDHomeRun app from the Roku channel store. When I started the app I got the following message:
Update RECORD engine
Some of your software is out of date and this channel cannot function fully.
Update of software needed for:
HDHomeRun SCRIBE QUATRO (20190621)
Please go to my.hdhomerun.com for more information
But when I went to that page and selected System Status I found that the firmware is Up to date.

How do I update the RECORD engine?

Thanks

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by NedS » Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:35 pm

aslg wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:24 pm
I have a HDHomeRun SCRIBE QUATRO.
I just installed the HDHomeRun app from the Roku channel store. When I started the app I got the following message:
Update RECORD engine
Some of your software is out of date and this channel cannot function fully.
Update of software needed for:
HDHomeRun SCRIBE QUATRO (20190621)
Please go to my.hdhomerun.com for more information
But when I went to that page and selected System Status I found that the firmware is Up to date.

How do I update the RECORD engine?

Thanks
You actually need the beta firmware for the SCRIBE Quatro. Easiest thing to do is to use the beta installer for Mac or Windows: https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/downloads#beta_software

Run the installer for Mac, and it will update the firmware automatically of all connected HDHomeRun devices. For Windows, run the installer and also open the HDHomeRun Setup utility when done (this is different from the HDHomeRun viewing app), and doing so will cause it to search for all connected HDHomeRun devices and update the firmware.

kmcherry
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:23 am

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by kmcherry » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:11 pm

Does anyone know if the Express+ (edited: I had written Premiere+, no idea why) works better than the other models for streaming from Silicondust devices? I'm wondering because it seems to do something with the audio to get it out via RCA cables? For a spare TV I'm willing to accept the lower resolution rather than buy a new TV/soundbar/etc.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14739
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by jasonl » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:49 pm

Roku's documentation says that only the TVs and Ultra models will decode AC3, and some reports I've seen indicate that even the Ultra doesn't always work.

speedingcheetah
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:06 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by speedingcheetah » Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:15 am

Code: Select all

Update Record Engine.
Some of your software is out of date and this channel cannot function fully.
Update of software needed for:
HDHomeRun RECORD (20190621)
Please go to my.hdhomerun.com for more information
IS current version of firmware (Prime) and RECORD (20190621) according to download site.
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/dvr:linux

Just got a Roku Ultra. Installed HDHR app. and getting this message.
Can press ok and the app loads, can see channels, but only some work, some wont load.
Some load with no sound.
App has frozen up Rouku a few times.
It looks like crap compared to the PC app, no easy way to find a guide, when u do find listings, click on future show, it just tunes that chan, not give option to set recording.

Ken.F
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by Ken.F » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:45 am

speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:15 am
IS current version of firmware (Prime) and RECORD (20190621) according to download site.
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/dvr:linux

Just got a Roku Ultra. Installed HDHR app. and getting this message.
Can press ok and the app loads, can see channels, but only some work, some wont load.
Some load with no sound.
App has frozen up Rouku a few times.
It looks like crap compared to the PC app, no easy way to find a guide, when u do find listings, click on future show, it just tunes that chan, not give option to set recording.
According to the first post in this thread you need the latest beta firmware (currently 20190715beta1 for the HDHR3-CC).
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/downloads

Even with the beta firmware on the Prime it might not work for you. The Roku app is intended for OTA, not cable. I don't know what the difference is in the transport stream but my Roku chokes on most of my cable channels.

Edit: The first post in this thread says beta firmware for the DVR. I assume that means firmware for the tuner since the DVR doesn't have any firmware.
Last edited by Ken.F on Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

speedingcheetah
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:06 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by speedingcheetah » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:47 am

Ken.F wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:45 am
speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:15 am
IS current version of firmware (Prime) and RECORD (20190621) according to download site.
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/dvr:linux

Just got a Roku Ultra. Installed HDHR app. and getting this message.
Can press ok and the app loads, can see channels, but only some work, some wont load.
Some load with no sound.
App has frozen up Rouku a few times.
It looks like crap compared to the PC app, no easy way to find a guide, when u do find listings, click on future show, it just tunes that chan, not give option to set recording.
According to the first post in this thread you need the latest beta firmware (currently 20190715beta1 for the HDHR3-CC).
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/downloads

Even with the beta firmware on the Prime it might not work for you. The Roku app is intended for OTA, not cable. I don't know what the difference is in the transport stream but my Roku chokes on most of my cable channels.
The message is saying RECORD is out of date...NOT the device firmware.
When u shut down the Record server....the message does not show up.
I do not see a beta for the RECORD software for Linux.
My cable service is Xfinity, and channels are streamed as 720p or 1080i mpeg4 h264.

Ken.F
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by Ken.F » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:50 am

speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:47 am
The message is saying RECORD is out of date...NOT the device firmware.
I was editing my post while you replied. I don't know what they are talking about. The DVR software has no firmware.

Ken.F
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by Ken.F » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:52 am

speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:47 am
I do not see a beta for the RECORD software for Linux.
The latest beta record software is 20190815beta1 available here:
viewtopic.php?f=126&t=20613

speedingcheetah
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:06 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by speedingcheetah » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:52 am

Ken.F wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:50 am
speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:47 am
The message is saying RECORD is out of date...NOT the device firmware.
I was editing my post while you replied. I don't know what they are talking about. The DVR software has no firmware.
Update Record Engine.....that is a software that can be upgraded.
Same as the Win software .exe.

speedingcheetah
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:06 pm

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by speedingcheetah » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:53 am

Ken.F wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:52 am
speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:47 am
I do not see a beta for the RECORD software for Linux.
The latest beta record software is 20190815beta1 available here:
viewtopic.php?f=126&t=20613
O. Thanks...but where changelog?
I dont like to use beta firmware though.

Ken.F
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by Ken.F » Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:00 am

speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:53 am
O. Thanks...but where changelog?
I dont like to use beta firmware though.
Changlog here: viewtopic.php?f=126&t=32339&start=15#p350010

HDHomeRun RECORD (20190815beta1)
* Support playback of recordings on Roku clients.

Ken.F
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by Ken.F » Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:02 am

speedingcheetah wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:53 am
I dont like to use beta firmware though.
The changelog for the firmware is here:
viewtopic.php?f=126&t=32339#p347607

HDHomeRun Firmware (20190715beta1)
* Remember user favorite/disable channel selection even if a channel goes away or a new scan is requested.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8533
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by signcarver » Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:51 am

I have never understood people not wanting beta firmware... in the 5-6 times a firmware upgrade has messed me up all have been release versions including a release just a few days after a beta was released which completely crippled me for a few days until another beta was released to fix the problem with their release firmware.

EddieP
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: We've added DVR Playback to Roku

Post by EddieP » Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:00 am

signcarver wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:51 am
I have never understood people not wanting beta firmware... in the 5-6 times a firmware upgrade has messed me up all have been release versions including a release just a few days after a beta was released which completely crippled me for a few days until another beta was released to fix the problem with their release firmware.
I have to agree the developers depend on users using beta firmware.

Post Reply