unable to play channel

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
mchias13
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:57 am
Device ID: 131D4055

unable to play channel

Post by mchias13 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:06 pm

I've been getting "unable to play channel" recently pretty often. Think it happens on drm channels. I have diagnostics on and it just happened (for timestamp reference)

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by jessie10133 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:13 pm

I'm also having this problem and it seem to be only drm channels ever since i upgrade to the new HDHR UI I been dealing with this situation is frustrating to exit every time and reopening HDHR app im getting this message on all my devices shield tv,mibox,xbox1 is basically not letting you watch the DRM channels for half hour or so when changing the channel you will get this message the workaround fix is to exit the app and reopen it I turn on the diagnostic option on the HDHR software win10 and will be doing a channel scan

Scan finish around
6:58pm or 7:01pm

Now watching DRM channels on 3 devices shield tv,mibox,win10 laptop I'm gonna leave just like that on the same channels when i come back from grocery shopping which will be an hour I will change the channel on those devices

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:34 pm

Cannot play DRM Channels today @7:20pm

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by NedS » Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:42 pm

DebbieFL33 wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:34 pm
Cannot play DRM Channels today @7:20pm
Can I get you to enable app diagnostic data: https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... stics#apps

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:43 pm

Done on iOS

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:21 am

Are we waiting for Monday to address this issue?

CC: @nateb and @neds

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14390
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by jasonl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:09 pm

mchias13 wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:06 pm
I've been getting "unable to play channel" recently pretty often. Think it happens on drm channels. I have diagnostics on and it just happened (for timestamp reference)
You have an old version of the DVR running on a Windows PC. You need to update to the latest.
https://www.silicondust.com/support/downloads/

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14390
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by jasonl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:12 pm

DebbieFL33 wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:34 pm
Cannot play DRM Channels today @7:20pm
You have 2 DVRs running on Linux devices. One is working, and the other has no record path set. You either need to disable the non-working one or fix the record path/config file. For reference, the non-working one is using the IP 10.0.0.119.

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:31 pm

I’ll do so, however, I’ve had xx.119 setup that way for over 1 year. I keep it as a backup.

Hence, I do not expect DRM channels will then be available to view.

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:50 pm

@jasonl

Still, not able to tune DRM channel.

It results in a “still of current non-DRM channel” with the (“Title” - OF THE SHOW ON THE DRM channel). Using iOS.

Sure wish SD would add an easier way to upload a screenshot (within the Reply dialogue) having to send to Dropbox or figure out a ‘url’ on 1 shot in photos is cumbersome. This is working well on the “other” iOS forum of a competitor (partner).

Check it out...I remember seeing one of your team checking that forum.

:D

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:03 pm


DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:13 pm

@jasonl

FYI: on iPad Pro running v12.4

:D

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14390
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:13 pm

Is the wifi network secure?

What is the network path between the iPad and the HDHomeRun?

DebbieFL33
Posts: 918
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 4:17 pm
Device ID: 1318CAEB

Re: unable to play channel

Post by DebbieFL33 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:49 pm

1. Yes, private
2. IPad using 0806 beta (wi-fi) to Router to Switch (8PortGHz) to HDHomeRun (HW) iICloud Home v2 running 20190621

Sufficient info? Or need addt?

Edit: V# of beta

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14390
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: unable to play channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:08 pm

Can you try uninstalling and reinstalling the app?

Post Reply