HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
toppinglift
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:45 am

HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by toppinglift » Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:13 am

Hi All,

It's been a few years since I had to analyze the OTA signals used by HDHR with a signal meter, but some NYC local stations are moving their antennas from the Empire State Building to World Trade Center and in the last few weeks, too many of my channels have suffered, so I have to re-tune. But the tablet which had the HDHR signal meter app is long gone, and Google Play doesn't have any official or even unofficial versions.

What apps are HDHR users using to re-tune their OTA antennas? Thanks.

neil459
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by neil459 » Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:02 am

I'd like to know also.

EddieP
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by EddieP » Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:19 am

If you goggle it you can get the APK to side load that is how I got it.

JoeHanson
Posts: 290
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:22 pm
Device ID: 107098AC

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by JoeHanson » Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:50 pm

If you download and install the Windows HDHomeRun exe it will install HDHomeRun Config GUI in its install directory. You will need to navigate to that directory to run it or create a shortcut to launch it.

It will allow you to view the Signal Strength, Signal Quality and Symbol Quality on each RF channel.

speedyrite
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:45 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by speedyrite » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:56 am

And is there an equivalent for the Mac? And all the other platforms that HDHomeRun operates on, for that matter?

neil459
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by neil459 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:29 am

speedyrite wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:56 am
And is there an equivalent for the Mac? And all the other platforms that HDHomeRun operates on, for that matter?
There used to be one, it certainly is not installed with the current Mac HDHomeRun product. IIRC correctly the last time I looked into to it, it was not being maintained or didn't work, don't remember which.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14749
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by jasonl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm

The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3996
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by gtb » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:56 pm

jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
Real women and men use the CLI. Anything else is just shiny.

ACraigo
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:32 pm
Device ID: 1062E8EE
Location: Deep Canyon in WV (by God)

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by ACraigo » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:01 am

jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
No, I guess not, but the (Free) app that does work for the purpose - on my Android Phone (developed by some one) - is a lot easier to carry out on the roof, than my desktop. Maybe one exists for IOS - I don't know.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by NedS » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:45 am

ACraigo wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:01 am
jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
No, I guess not, but the (Free) app that does work for the purpose - on my Android Phone (developed by some one) - is a lot easier to carry out on the roof, than my desktop. Maybe one exists for IOS - I don't know.
There is an unofficial paid app for iOS called "Signal GH" that shows signal level for HDHomeRun units.

neil459
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by neil459 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:05 am

jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
I just download the recommended dmg and there is no separate installer. One has to downgrade the complete installation. Is that really an option? I don't think so.

If SD is not going to support this command line app, why not put the source in a GitHub repository and let your users maintain it? I actually used this command line program quite often until it disappeared. Especially when monkeying with my antennas and wiring.

spencer777
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:02 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by spencer777 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:04 am

NedS wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:45 am
ACraigo wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:01 am
jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
No, I guess not, but the (Free) app that does work for the purpose - on my Android Phone (developed by some one) - is a lot easier to carry out on the roof, than my desktop. Maybe one exists for IOS - I don't know.
There is an unofficial paid app for iOS called "Signal GH" that shows signal level for HDHomeRun units.
Thanks Signal GH helps a lot, was able to get 50% quality on all channels. Having major issues now. Don't if know it's because of the repak. I bought a lite filter, which I don't know if that helps. Put aluminum foil on the ends of my flat, actually that helped. Question though I bought a Rocket fish Outdoor antenna and put it the same spot as my flat, didn't work. Do those need to be outside to work?

ACraigo
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:32 pm
Device ID: 1062E8EE
Location: Deep Canyon in WV (by God)

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by ACraigo » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:37 am

spencer777 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:04 am
Do those need to be outside to work?
Within 5 miles of the transmitter - perhaps not.
In excess of 5 miles - absolutely.
In excess of 20 miles - get a 'regular', 'old fashioned' antenna.

50% is right on the cusp of blackness.
Above 65% I would consider 'Operational'.

spencer777
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:02 am

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by spencer777 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:44 pm

ACraigo wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:37 am
spencer777 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:04 am
Do those need to be outside to work?
Within 5 miles of the transmitter - perhaps not.
In excess of 5 miles - absolutely.
In excess of 20 miles - get a 'regular', 'old fashioned' antenna.

50% is right on the cusp of blackness.
Above 65% I would consider 'Operational'.
Yeah I'm seeing above 65 makes a difference. Getting more success. Since I bought a duo and connect, I added a second small antenna and was able to get ABC in the 65 range, it also allowed me to get NBC in the 62 range on the original antenna, still having trouble getting their sister station CW which is on the same tower.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14749
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDR-Homerun Signal Meter--Where is it?

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:07 pm

neil459 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:05 am
jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:12 pm
The last Mac version that included it was 20180817, which can be downloaded from https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 180817.dmg . There was never an official app for Android or iOS.
I just download the recommended dmg and there is no separate installer. One has to downgrade the complete installation. Is that really an option? I don't think so.

If SD is not going to support this command line app, why not put the source in a GitHub repository and let your users maintain it? I actually used this command line program quite often until it disappeared. Especially when monkeying with my antennas and wiring.
The command line program is included with all versions of the Mac software, and is distributed in source form as libhdhomerun. The Mac GUI is actually the same as the Linux GUI and is provided in source form on the Linux downloads page at https://www.silicondust.com/support/linux/ . It's based around an ancient version of GTK that doesn't compile properly under the current Mac build system, which is why it was removed. If someone is interested in modernizing it they're welcome to do so, and I can bring up getting it on GitHub once there are some changes ready to submit.

Post Reply