New UI?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
TOF
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:20 am

New UI?

Post by TOF » Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:32 pm

Until recently I've had no problems with the HD user interface, now the "unable to play Channel" comes up often when I change channel from the one I was watching. I turn off the HDR and restart it and the channel plays. My remote(green Windows key) that previously worked flawlessly also may or may not work until I hit a numerical key to bring up the channel list. I checked the build and it is 20190611(1.1.275.0) which is apparently an update from the Windows Store. I thought I had auto update turned off but perhaps not. :evil:

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: New UI?

Post by EddieP » Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:52 pm

TOF wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:32 pm
Until recently I've had no problems with the HD user interface, now the "unable to play Channel" comes up often when I change channel from the one I was watching. I turn off the HDR and restart it and the channel plays. My remote(green Windows key) that previously worked flawlessly also may or may not work until I hit a numerical key to bring up the channel list. I checked the build and it is 20190611(1.1.275.0) which is apparently an update from the Windows Store. I thought I had auto update turned off but perhaps not. :evil:
That is an old build.

kkid
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:24 am

Re: New UI?

Post by kkid » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:38 am

EddieP wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:52 pm
TOF wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:32 pm
Until recently I've had no problems with the HD user interface, now the "unable to play Channel" comes up often when I change channel from the one I was watching. I turn off the HDR and restart it and the channel plays. My remote(green Windows key) that previously worked flawlessly also may or may not work until I hit a numerical key to bring up the channel list. I checked the build and it is 20190611(1.1.275.0) which is apparently an update from the Windows Store. I thought I had auto update turned off but perhaps not. :evil:
That is an old build.
So, how do we get a better build? This build is a bad non-responsive mess on win 10 computers.

GGRussell
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: New UI?

Post by GGRussell » Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:44 am

TOF wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:32 pm
I checked the build and it is 20190611(1.1.275.0) which is apparently an update from the Windows Store.
I just checked MS Store and I see no updates to HDHomeRun. I have 1.1.272.0 Store would not update it. I had to uninstall and reinstall. 1.1.275.0 IS the latest 'released' version. I don't use early release.

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: New UI?

Post by EddieP » Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:54 am

GGRussell wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:44 am
TOF wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:32 pm
I checked the build and it is 20190611(1.1.275.0) which is apparently an update from the Windows Store.
I just checked MS Store and I see no updates to HDHomeRun. I have 1.1.272.0 Store would not update it. I had to uninstall and reinstall. 1.1.275.0 IS the latest 'released' version. I don't use early release.
I have Version 20190802b .. make sure you have access to early features checked.
Last edited by EddieP on Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

GGRussell
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: New UI?

Post by GGRussell » Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:58 am

EddieP wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:54 am
I have Version 20190801b
I think that is driver version or Record engine version. Not Windows Client version. There are several pieces to the 'software'. Even if you have the released Client app, you can turn on Early Access features and try out upcoming release features.

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: New UI?

Post by EddieP » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:00 am

Image

GGRussell
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: New UI?

Post by GGRussell » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:18 am

Thanks but still beta software.

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: New UI?

Post by EddieP » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:21 am

GGRussell wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:18 am
Thanks but still beta software.
I think this will be in beta for ever ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

GGRussell
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: New UI?

Post by GGRussell » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:24 am

If you go to the Hamburger menu, there is a different date. That is what I go by.

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: New UI?

Post by EddieP » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:33 am

GGRussell wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:24 am
If you go to the Hamburger menu, there is a different date. That is what I go by.
I think that is just a Version that has to be manually updated in the App but it is not always updated .. :roll: :roll: :roll:

App Version 20190205 (1.1.272.0) LMAO we all have different versions.

kkid
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:24 am

Re: New UI?

Post by kkid » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:15 pm

EddieP wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:33 am
GGRussell wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:24 am
If you go to the Hamburger menu, there is a different date. That is what I go by.
I think that is just a Version that has to be manually updated in the App but it is not always updated .. :roll: :roll: :roll:

App Version 20190205 (1.1.272.0) LMAO we all have different versions.
Oh this is even worse than i thought. EddieP is correct. This win10 app has at least two places to check which version you are running and they show different versions on my win10 machine. The "left hand top corner hamburger" shows 190611 (1.1.275.0) while the version shown in the settings pane reached from the lower right hand "hamburger" from the lower ribbon" shows 2019802b.
Come on guys !!!

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: New UI?

Post by nateb » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:46 pm

We're probably going to need to document this better. The version in the hamburger is the app version. The version in the gear is the UI version. The UI will be updated frequently, so that number will stay relatively recent. The app will be updated far less frequently, so the number may be older. Your UI numbers should all be the same across platforms. Your app numbers may not be, because when we update, as an example, Android, we may not need to update Windows.

kkid
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:24 am

Re: New UI?

Post by kkid » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:49 pm

nateb wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:46 pm
We're probably going to need to document this better. The version in the hamburger is the app version. The version in the gear is the UI version. The UI will be updated frequently, so that number will stay relatively recent. The app will be updated far less frequently, so the number may be older.
Why not combine both of those numbers in one place, not two? Seems like putting version info in two or more places leads to confusion.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: New UI?

Post by nateb » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:54 pm

The "hamburger" doesn't exist on any platform other than Windows (and maybe Mac?). So we can't really put that in the same place.

Beyond that, honestly, we only started putting a version number on the UI out of need. Without it, it was hard for testers to be sure they were testing all on the same version of the UI because of annoying cache problems. If we ever manage to fully do away with cache issues, we may also drop the UI version number. For customers, the only thing they should really worry about is what's been changed on a day to day basis, and whether they are on Early Access or not.

Post Reply