What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Ken.F
Posts: 2124
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by Ken.F » Fri Aug 02, 2019 8:10 pm

averyfreeman wrote:
Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:15 pm
On a practical level, what happens if I record something that's broadcast in 4K - will I be able to view it even without a video card capable of 4K, on a 1080P televison? Do I need to see if I can find HEVC codecs for FreeBSD?
In my experience (on Linux) you don't need a special video card if your processor can decode it fast enough. My i7-4770 can play them in Kodi with the onboard Intel graphics but it hits the CPU pretty hard. My Pentium G860 can't keep up with it. It tries to play but the video stalls every few seconds.
I had a few 4K recordings here but I deleted them recently. I could have sent you a test clip to try out. The next time I get one I'll let you know. I have a 4K MLB game scheduled to record on 8/3 but I'm not sure if it will record or not. It's listed in the HDHomeRun guide but it doesn't show up in the guide on the FiOS website.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by jasonl » Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:15 pm

32 channels of DOCSIS 3.0 is only like 1242Mb/s total, and that's shared between however many hundred people are on that same node, so providers usually don't want to overprovision that much. From what I've seen on Charter, the max you can get on 3.0 is 400Mb/s; gigabit requires 3.1.

60fps means it's progressive, 30fps means it's interlaced.

The short answer is that you won't be recording anything at 4K because it's not available from Comcast and likely will never be in a format that the HDHomeRun can receive.

averyfreeman
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 am
Device ID: 1326E235 1313788A
Location: Olympia, WA
Contact:

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by averyfreeman » Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:30 pm

jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 4:15 pm
32 channels of DOCSIS 3.0 is only like 1242Mb/s total, and that's shared between however many hundred people are on that same node, so providers usually don't want to overprovision that much. From what I've seen on Charter, the max you can get on 3.0 is 400Mb/s; gigabit requires 3.1.

60fps means it's progressive, 30fps means it's interlaced.

The short answer is that you won't be recording anything at 4K because it's not available from Comcast and likely will never be in a format that the HDHomeRun can receive.
If it's 3.1 how come the downstream channels are QAM256 though? I got the impression from the wikipedia article about DOCSIS that 3.1 is QAM4096: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS
DOCSIS 3.1 : First released in October 2013, and updated several times since, the DOCSIS 3.1 suite of specifications support capacities of up to 10 Gbit/s downstream and 1 Gbit/s upstream using 4096 QAM.
So the HDHR Prime can only record MPEG2 streams? Is there like a specification manual for the prime or the API somewhere?

Basically, what you're saying is 4K will be in HEVC and the prime won't stream it? Am I missing something?

Thanks

EddieP
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by EddieP » Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:50 pm

Most of my Comcast HD Channels are H264 and the Prime has no problem recording them.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by signcarver » Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:52 pm

No, you are getting it all wrong... It is codec agnostic... doesn't matter if mpeg2, h264, or hevc... it requires ts streams over qam, it is expected that most hevc channels won't be available on linear qam but by ip.

Also at some way distant point when all legacy current cable boxes and d3 modems are gone, there may no longer be any qam (up to 256) and that everything will be ofdm and qam 4096.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: What kind of hardware required for HDHR Recording computer?

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:59 pm

DOCSIS 3.1 is capable of going up to 4096QAM. That doesn't mean providers will actually go that high, as denser constellations require higher signal to noise ratios to function properly. To visualize how this works, say you have a 4"x4" piece of paper. Divide it up with lines every inch, giving you an 8x8 grid. This is equivalent to 64QAM. Now, take that same size paper and divide it up with lines every half inch, giving you a 16x16 grid. This is equivalent to QAM256. Then, take that same size paper and divide it up with lines every 1/8th of an inch, giving you a 64x64 grid. That's 4096QAM. Each one of those squares represents a specific value. In 64QAM, it gives you a 6 bit value, since 2^6=64. In 256QAM, 8 bits, since 2^8=256. In 4096QAM, 12 bits, since 2^12=4096. Now imagine that you're throwing a dart at the grid, and which square you hit in there gives you the specific value. 64QAM gives you much more room for error in where you hit to still get the number you intended to hit, while you have to be incredibly precise on 4096QAM because your squares are 1/8"x1/8". The more precise you can be (the cleaner your signal is), the more bits you can represent with each hit. Do it over 5 million times per second, and that's a basic conceptual description of what digital cable modulation looks like. There's obviously a lot more that's going on, but this should be enough to make the point. Cable providers have to balance performance of the system against the requirements for customers to be able to receive the signals, and 256 is a sweet spot.

HDHomeRun PRIME handles HEVC fine. The problem is that Comcast doesn't have 4K channels because they don't have enough bandwidth for traditional 4K channels, and that's unlikely to change. What 4K they do have is delivered as VOD via internet bandwidth rather than TV bandwidth, and that can only be accessed by their devices, not by CableCARD devices.

Post Reply