Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:23 pm

The DVR on your NAS is version 20180817. You need to update it to the current version.

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:44 pm

I'm not using the DVR on my NAS anymore, I disabled it. Using the DVR from the setup app, but pointed to the NAS. Should be the latest version, right ?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:51 pm

The only DVR you have running at this time is on your NAS, possibly a Synology. There is a Windows one that runs from time to time, but the last time it was on was last night about 10:15pm.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by signcarver » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:54 pm

from what jasonl was saying, he was able to detect a DVR with that old version running from your NAS (the DVR checks in with SD).

Make sure any DVR you have on your network is on the latest version as "all" are discovered by the app.

How did you install it on your NAS (some ways auto start and may even have two engines running if you also installed through setup). Your choice from setup is to install to a NAS (once there it can't be disabled by setup, you will have to disable from the NAS itself or in most cases reboot the NAS unless you used an autostart method) or record locally, it can't just "point" to a NAS.

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:30 pm

Thanks everyone! I got it working now. For some reason there was a zombie record process somehow running the old version... So, I rebooted my NAS as was suggested, and completely un-installed and re-installed the HDHomeRun setup app. Now that zombie record process is gone, and DRM channels are working.

Thanks for the help everyone!

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:15 pm

Sorry, looks like I spoke too soon. Playing Live clear & DRM channels works fine, but recording and playing back clear channels is broken. I get the following error message playing back a clear channel:

TypeError: Cannot read property 'childNodes' of undefined.

Tried rebooting my PC and my PRIME. Also trying switching from recording on my PC, to my NAS, and back, with the same error message each time.

HELP again!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by NedS » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:51 pm

lheminger wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:15 pm
Sorry, looks like I spoke too soon. Playing Live clear & DRM channels works fine, but recording and playing back clear channels is broken. I get the following error message playing back a clear channel:

TypeError: Cannot read property 'childNodes' of undefined.

Tried rebooting my PC and my PRIME. Also trying switching from recording on my PC, to my NAS, and back, with the same error message each time.

HELP again!
That's on us, looks like the last UI update did something weird to DVR. Developers have been alerted to fix ASAP.

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:48 am

NedS wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:51 pm
lheminger wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:15 pm
Sorry, looks like I spoke too soon. Playing Live clear & DRM channels works fine, but recording and playing back clear channels is broken. I get the following error message playing back a clear channel:

TypeError: Cannot read property 'childNodes' of undefined.

Tried rebooting my PC and my PRIME. Also trying switching from recording on my PC, to my NAS, and back, with the same error message each time.

HELP again!
That's on us, looks like the last UI update did something weird to DVR. Developers have been alerted to fix ASAP.
Thank you for the update @Ned. If you could post here when it's been resolved, I'd be happy to confirm with you.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by nateb » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:55 am

lheminger wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:48 am

Thank you for the update @Ned. If you could post here when it's been resolved, I'd be happy to confirm with you.
This should have been fixed yesterday with version 0806.

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:25 pm

nateb wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:55 am
lheminger wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:48 am

Thank you for the update @Ned. If you could post here when it's been resolved, I'd be happy to confirm with you.
This should have been fixed yesterday with version 0806.
Confirmed, thanks!

Post Reply