Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:35 pm

Hi SD team,

Using the latest release on both my NVIDIA Shield TV and Windows 10 PC, encrypted channels coming through my tuning adapter are no longer working. Used to work just fine. Un-encrypted channels working fine. I tried rebooting both my PRIME and Tuning Adapter. The status page shows AOK, but just getting a black screen when attempting to view any encrypted channels. I have Spectrum Cable, in San Diego, Ca. I turned on sending debug info. My PRIME device ID is: 13111848 .

I briefly looked through the log, and didn't see anything that looked like an error. Please let me know what else you need to debug this.

Thanks!

leerandall
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by leerandall » Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:58 am

I, too, can no longer tune any DRM channels on my Shield. I don't know with which release broke it, though, as I have very few DRM channels in my Spectrum line-up and I don't normally watch any of them. But I just tried a couple of them and they will not play on my Shield. They will, however, play on my Win 10 machines.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by nateb » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:25 am

Thanks for the reports, guys. Will get on this asap.

garethw
Silicondust
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by garethw » Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:19 am

Hello and apologies for the issue you are experiencing.
I see you are running the latest version of the app.
When did this breakage occur?
Has it been working on this version or did it break when you updated to this version?
Regards
Gareth

leerandall
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by leerandall » Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:31 am

In my case, I can't tell you when this issue began. I don't have many DRM channels in my line-up and the ones I do have I don't watch regularly. I may not have even noticed it myself if I hadn't read lheminger's post (above) this morning and checked my own DRM channels. Sorry.

garethw
Silicondust
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by garethw » Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:16 am

Hello

Can you please check your record engine version number - and ensure you are running the latest record engine.
Once you have updated it, please retry a protected channel.

Thanks

Gareth

leerandall
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by leerandall » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:49 pm

my.hdhomerun.com doesn't show that there is an update, so it must be the latest:

HDHomeRun RECORD
Version 20190621

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by jasonl » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:07 pm

Yours is a different issue. Do you have the location permission enabled for the HDHomeRun app?

leerandall
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by leerandall » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:14 pm

Let me check... No, I did not. I turned on location permission for the app, then restarted it, and now I once again can view DRM channels. I don't know how the permission got turned off. I must have had it turned on in the past because I have checked DRM channels on the Shield in the past. Anyway, thanks. My issue is resolved.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15524
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by nickk » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:34 pm

leerandall wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:14 pm
Let me check... No, I did not. I turned on location permission for the app, then restarted it, and now I once again can view DRM channels. I don't know how the permission got turned off. I must have had it turned on in the past because I have checked DRM channels on the Shield in the past. Anyway, thanks. My issue is resolved.
That makes sense - the location permission is required for playing DRM channels (the app doesn't need or read your location but Google requires this permission to detect wifi properties).

More information here:
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=69027

leerandall
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by leerandall » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:47 pm

I'm not using wi-fi. I'm using ethernet on my Shield.

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:22 pm

Guys - I've been running the HD-DVR software directly on my Synology NAS. I went ahead and removed that, and configured HDHomeRun through the setup app to use the NAS instead. Recording is working fine for non-encrypted, however, still unable to view live encrypted channels. Help!

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by signcarver » Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:47 pm

What version setup app... only the last couple properly support not trying to tune DRM, otherwise the client tries to use the DVR for DRM channels which at this time can't be done. This "fix" also prevented the recording engine from actually recording a useless file. Also the client may need to be updated as well.

At least some android platforms require wireless to be "on" for location services to work... at the same time this may mean both ethernet and wifi get ip addresses in your subnet and may pick things up twice (and/or subnet is improperly configured on one causing overlap with only "partial" functionality on one of the interfaces)

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Sun Aug 04, 2019 12:06 am

signcarver wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:47 pm
What version setup app... only the last couple properly support not trying to tune DRM, otherwise the client tries to use the DVR for DRM channels which at this time can't be done. This "fix" also prevented the recording engine from actually recording a useless file. Also the client may need to be updated as well.

At least some android platforms require wireless to be "on" for location services to work... at the same time this may mean both ethernet and wifi get ip addresses in your subnet and may pick things up twice (and/or subnet is improperly configured on one causing overlap with only "partial" functionality on one of the interfaces)
DRM channels stopped working I think when I updated to the latest version of apps, DVR and firmware. Same behavior on both my Windows 10 PC and Android TV (Shield). Running 20190715beta1. I am not using wireless on either my PC or Android TV for performance reasons. I did try my Android mobile device with wireless and location services on, also not playing DRM channels. My status looks good, and my tuning resolver status says its ready...

lheminger
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Encrypted channels no longer working for me

Post by lheminger » Sun Aug 04, 2019 12:51 am

One last note: I rebooted both my PRIME and tuning resolver, and now I get this error message when trying to play any DRM channel on my NVIDIA Shield:

Unable to Play Channel
Content Protection Error

Again, tuning resolver was recently rebooted, and reports ready status.

This is a copy of the most recent reboot from the log. I have Spectrum Cable, channel 10 KGTV is clear (works), channel 27 TNT-HD is DRM (does not work):


19700101-00:00:00 System: reset reason = power on
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: USB device 05A6:0008 connected
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver connected
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: M-CARD inserted
19700101-00:00:04 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:05 System: network link down
19700101-00:00:06 CableCARD: Technicolor/Cisco card (0103:0001)
19700101-00:00:08 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:09 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.1.68 / 255.255.255.0
19700101-00:00:10 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication in progress
19700101-00:00:10 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
19700101-00:00:19 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver disconnected
19700101-00:00:19 CableCARD: USB device 05A6:0008 connected
19700101-00:00:19 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver connected
19700101-00:00:21 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver downstream status: in progress
19700101-00:00:21 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver upstream status: in progress
19700101-00:00:21 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver authentication status: in progress
19700101-00:00:21 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver operational status: initializing
19700101-00:00:22 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver authentication status: success
19700101-00:00:31 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver downstream status: success
19700101-00:00:34 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3)
19700101-00:00:34 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.55:38500
19700101-00:00:34 CableCARD: tuner0 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3) access = subscribed
19700101-00:00:54 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
19700101-00:01:25 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3)
19700101-00:01:26 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.55:38536
19700101-00:01:26 CableCARD: tuner0 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3) access = subscribed
19700101-00:01:33 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:33:16 CableCARD: time changed from Thu Jan 01 00:01:47 1970 to Sun Aug 04 07:33:16 2019
20190804-07:33:20 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3)
20190804-07:33:21 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.47:54748
20190804-07:33:21 CableCARD: tuner0 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3) access = subscribed
20190804-07:33:40 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:33:59 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver upstream status: success
20190804-07:34:24 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3)
20190804-07:34:25 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.47:54888
20190804-07:34:25 CableCARD: tuner0 10 KGTV (auto:141MHz-3) access = subscribed
20190804-07:34:42 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:35:18 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver operational status: ready
20190804-07:36:24 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10 KGTVHD
20190804-07:36:24 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.47:55022
20190804-07:36:24 CableCARD: tuner0 10 KGTVHD access = subscribed
20190804-07:36:39 Tuner: tuner1 tuning 27 TNT-HD
20190804-07:36:40 Tuner: tuner1 streaming http to 192.168.1.55:38688
20190804-07:36:40 CableCARD: tuner1 27 TNT-HD access = subscribed
20190804-07:36:49 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:36:51 Tuner: tuner1 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:36:51 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 27 TNT-HD
20190804-07:36:51 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.55:38692
20190804-07:36:51 CableCARD: tuner0 27 TNT-HD access = subscribed
20190804-07:37:02 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20190804-07:37:02 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 27 TNT-HD

Post Reply