Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
MoeDee
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:10 am
Location: USA

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by MoeDee » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:27 am

Atlanta/north Xfinity

Some Cable channels work.
most do not
example
ESPNHD works
ESPN2HD does not..
Last edited by MoeDee on Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ERamseth
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:15 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by ERamseth » Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:17 am

Verizon FioS in 20878 some "cable" channels are working. Specifically, locals are working. ESPN not working. Golf channel not working, History chan not working.

This is with HDHR Prime firmware 20190603beta1

Edit: FYI this is on a TCL TV with Roku built in.

Jimmersd
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Jimmersd » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:45 am

Spectrum/Brighthouse digital in Orlando is a crap shoot which channels function. A lot do.

Also the most recent firmware and local channels are more likely to work.

Prime
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:31 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Prime » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:02 am

Verizon fios in Baltimore region is rubbish now on FTV Cube via Prime device.
Voice sync is a disaster. The app locks up. It crashes. Unusable now.
Earlier this week, the old app version worked fine — except for its 4 or so UI and UX bugs that were annoying and needed fixing a year+ ago: 1) unreliable channel guide UI, 2) turning on CC in app meant you could not turn it off in the app (this is non conventional UI approach), 3) general slowness, 4) horrible CC typography and preference control or that (there is none) — especially bad compared to Apple TV or Amazon Prime, etc. Hire a graphic designer with UI typography experience and basically copy how Apple does it and you are good. CC type should be flexible and easy to change for the user depending on their disability needs, and not about “style” or lack of (the current awful state) but just good typography like you see in good airport signage or the interstate highway system in the US. It should just work.

jco23
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:32 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by jco23 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:51 am

ERamseth wrote:
Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:17 am
Verizon FioS in 20878 some "cable" channels are working. Specifically, locals are working. ESPN not working. Golf channel not working, History chan not working.

This is with HDHR Prime firmware 20190603beta1

Edit: FYI this is on a TCL TV with Roku built in.
been thinking about getting the Prime - can you confirm if MASN/MASN2/MLB Network are working?

thanks!

Noah0504
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:37 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Noah0504 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:36 pm

A little late to the party, but I've really only recently had some time to test more channels.

For me, it seems to be about 50/50. All local channels seem to work fine, but it's hit and miss for others. For example, HBO does not work, but HBO 2 works just fine (none of my channels contain DRM).

EDIT: Just realized I didn't mention my cable provider. It's Fidelity Communications.

Cuvis
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:42 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Cuvis » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:39 am

Using Cox in the Wichita, KS area on a second-gen Roku Streaming Stick (3500). It's able to see the device and get channel listings, but can't play video regardless of DRM status.

Post Reply