Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by nateb » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:54 am

Hi all, as some of you may know, it appears cable channels work for some people and not for others. We think we've narrowed down the issue, but are looking for edge cases. So if you have tried playing cable channels in Roku, we'd appreciate it if you said so in this thread, whether it worked, and who your cable provider is.

Online
Ken.F
Posts: 2098
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Ken.F » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:23 am

I have Verizon FiOS. Some cable channels work and some don't. I haven't checked them all but not working are 230 TCM, 570 ESPN, 603 MSNBC, 609 BBC World News, 680 SYFY. I can play 502 MeTV, 503 CBS, 506 ABC, 512 PBS, 513 FOX, 516 CW, 517 MyNetworkTV, 554 Paramount, 629 FYI, 690 Comedy Central.

cell21633
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:26 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by cell21633 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 11:02 pm

I have some channels streaming, and some channels not streaming, on RCN.

UPDATE 6/25/19:
Updated hardware to a Roku Ultra 4660X, and the HDHR app seems to incorrectly set the 24p flag on the standard definition channels.
Last edited by cell21633 on Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

elabra
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:32 pm
Device ID: Device ID's: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by elabra » Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:35 pm

Comcast/Xfinity in Atlanta does not work.

OTA tuners work fine but Primes do not work at all yet here.

gfalcon
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by gfalcon » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:42 pm

Only used it a little, but working ok here. Spectrum in Fond du Lac, WI.

dfleenor
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:37 pm
Device ID: 13112ED0

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by dfleenor » Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:26 am

Comcast/Xfinity in Indianapolis, IN. Only a few cable channels work. On all other channels it just kicks back to the home screen.

Keenan
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:55 pm
Device ID: 13170B59

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Keenan » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:52 pm

Sorry, but how are you folks watching Comcast on a Roku?

Thanks

dfleenor
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:37 pm
Device ID: 13112ED0

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by dfleenor » Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:12 am

The new Roku app recognizes the HD HomeRun Prime tuner but depending on the cable provider there has been varied success in watching the channels.

rk333
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:14 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by rk333 » Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:28 am

Mostly works for me for Optimum in Fairfield County, CT after sorting out issues that were mostly on optimums side. Some channels are buggy (like work for a few seconds than stop), but thats not consistent. Primarilty using Roku 4620x, but similar result of a couple old roku tvs. Happy to send any diagnostic details if helpful.

jasondeanny
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:02 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by jasondeanny » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:26 am

Based on my limited experience on Spectrum (old TWC), anything flagged as Copy Protected doesn't work. Anything not flagged seems to work. I'm happy that at least the clear channels work... now to get the rest working! Keep up the good work.

Gganoe
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by Gganoe » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:19 am

The Roku app works with most non DRM channels on Comcast. The only channels that don't seem to work so far are nbc sports and fox sports. They will not load.

hifialan
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by hifialan » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:43 am

Works with Spectrum in Columbus, Ohio through HDprime CC.

hifialan
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by hifialan » Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:42 pm

Correction. No cable channels working on Spectrum in Columbus, Ohio via HDPrime CC. Only broadcast channels working.

Online
gtb
Expert
Posts: 3947
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by gtb » Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:02 pm

hifialan wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:42 pm
Correction. No cable channels working on Spectrum in Columbus, Ohio via HDPrime CC. Only broadcast channels working.
This is to be (somewhat) expected, as Charter in L-TWC areas requires a full protected path for everything other than the local (and typically the PEG) channels, and as mentioned that is not supported in the Roku app at this time.

tghowe
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:09 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Who has working cable channels in Roku?

Post by tghowe » Sun Jul 07, 2019 4:17 am

I have COX and two HDHR-Prime Tuners. Non-DRM cable channels work for me.

Post Reply