4k channels on Verizon Fios

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15424
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by nickk » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:32 am

We have identified and fixed a problem playing Verizon Fios 4k channels. The problem related to the audio format used on these channels.

You will see new HDHomeRun app releases for each platform this week.

Note that playing 4k content requires your playback device to have 4k hardware support.
On newer versions of Windows 10 it also requires the Microsoft HEVC Video extension which is a paid extension.

Nick

tachtevrenidis
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:36 am

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by tachtevrenidis » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:27 am

while I don't have Verizon Fios and I don't get any 4K channels, is there a path to 4K on Windows 7 (yeap Windows 7!) :-)

rpcameron
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by rpcameron » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:39 am

tachtevrenidis wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:27 am
while I don't have Verizon Fios and I don't get any 4K channels, is there a path to 4K on Windows 7 (yeap Windows 7!) :-)
I believe it depends on the codec. If WMC can handle HEVC/H.265 and whatever the audio is transmitted as, then in theory there shouldn't be a problem.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3906
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by gtb » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:41 pm

rpcameron wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:39 am
then in theory ....
In theory, theory and practice is the same......

As W7 is EoL in around six months (and no new features have been added since early 2015), I suspect practice is going to get in the way of the theory, as a number of codecs had both feature and license restrictions before W8 (when Microsoft changed things yet again, and then with W10 changed them around again).

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3906
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by gtb » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:42 pm

nickk wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:32 am
The problem related to the audio format used on these channels.
I am sort of curious as to what codec VZ FiOS is using. Can you share?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15424
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by nickk » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:52 pm

gtb wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:42 pm
nickk wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:32 am
The problem related to the audio format used on these channels.
I am sort of curious as to what codec VZ FiOS is using. Can you share?
Video is HEVC
Audio is AAC/ADTS

AAC is usually AAC/LATM rather than ADTS when used with TV but we support both.

Nick

foxbat121
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by foxbat121 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:57 pm

Tried 3 different PCs and all of them played only top 1/4 of the screen with updated Win10 App live TV only. One using Intel IGP. One using nVidia GT 1030. One using 6GB GTX1060.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15424
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by nickk » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:58 pm

foxbat121 wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:57 pm
Tried 3 different PCs and all of them played only top 1/4 of the screen with updated Win10 App live TV only. One using Intel IGP. One using nVidia GT 1030. One using 6GB GTX1060.
We have just received a test recording reproducing this problem - it is being worked on now.

Nick

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15424
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by nickk » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:09 pm

foxbat121 wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:57 pm
Tried 3 different PCs and all of them played only top 1/4 of the screen with updated Win10 App live TV only. One using Intel IGP. One using nVidia GT 1030. One using 6GB GTX1060.
Problem has been fixed.

The Windows 10 app has been submitted to the app store.
Updates for other platforms are in the works.

Nick

foxbat121
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by foxbat121 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:19 pm

The Xbox One version got updated this afternoon and works fine now. The PC version just got updated and don't have a chance to try it (until tomorrow morning 9AM).

JerryB
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by JerryB » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:39 am

FYI: the update solved the problem with the Windows 10 version on my system.

foxbat121
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: 4k channels on Verizon Fios

Post by foxbat121 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:51 am

Win10 App works fine now. Funny thing is that when I saved a 30-second clip to the disc via command line, none of other media players can play it without hiccups after a few seconds. That includes Movie and TV app and VLC app.

Post Reply