4k and Roku support

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
foxbat121
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by foxbat121 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:05 am

Verizon FIOS ch 1498 is now broadcasting 4K signal. Currently it is only a single slide (until 3PM ET) but it is 4K video none the less. This is the time to check which of your devices can play 4K broadcasting!

jboymichelstein
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 am

foxbat121 wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:05 am
Verizon FIOS ch 1498 is now broadcasting 4K signal. Currently it is only a single slide (until 3PM ET) but it is 4K video none the less. This is the time to check which of your devices can play 4K broadcasting!
I am interested to know who much bandwidth over ethernet this required?

jboymichelstein
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:17 am

rrussis82 wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:05 pm
jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:53 pm
NedS wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:35 pm


Not all PRIME/cable TV channels have DRM restrictions.
And it doesn't state the contrary either. If we are talking about prime, we should be talking about all its capability and incapability. So i understand that non-drm will work. To people who don't know, telling them yeah it will work, then they put money into it, and find their system is 80% drm protected like mine. Omission of fact etc....
So you are asking all posters that when they reference the Prime and the Servio that they must put a disclaimer saying except DRM even though throughout all the website referring to the Primes it states recording DRM in not available?
Sorry to take this way off topic. I was just referring to those saying they are new. Not everyone has viewed the whole forum.

foxbat121
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by foxbat121 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:28 am

jboymichelstein wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 am
foxbat121 wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:05 am
Verizon FIOS ch 1498 is now broadcasting 4K signal. Currently it is only a single slide (until 3PM ET) but it is 4K video none the less. This is the time to check which of your devices can play 4K broadcasting!
I am interested to know who much bandwidth over ethernet this required?
Last time Verizon broadcasted with Nascar racin on ch1499, it was reported that the stream is 23mbps (or maybe 27?) HEVC 4k with AAC 5.1 audio and HLG HDR. The original Prime3 has a gigabit port. So it is more than enough bandwidth. Prime6 is another story.

jboymichelstein
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:41 am

foxbat121 wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:28 am
jboymichelstein wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 am
foxbat121 wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:05 am
Verizon FIOS ch 1498 is now broadcasting 4K signal. Currently it is only a single slide (until 3PM ET) but it is 4K video none the less. This is the time to check which of your devices can play 4K broadcasting!
I am interested to know who much bandwidth over ethernet this required?
Last time Verizon broadcasted with Nascar racin on ch1499, it was reported that the stream is 23mbps (or maybe 27?) HEVC 4k with AAC 5.1 audio and HLG HDR. The original Prime3 has a gigabit port. So it is more than enough bandwidth. Prime6 is another story.
The Prime 6 network port was what I was concerned about. I have 2 prime 3's. I guess when it comes out we will know for sure if this will be an issue.

Post Reply