Not subscribed

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
timstephens24
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:44 am

Not subscribed

Post by timstephens24 » Sat May 18, 2019 6:44 pm

My wife came back from a tip and noticed none of her shows had recorded. It gives me the following error:
Recording: authorization error or not subscribed to dvr service

I've tried restarting, redownloading the software, etc, but it doesn't work. I'd like this fixed and a free month to cover the time I didn't get to use it.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Not subscribed

Post by NedS » Sat May 18, 2019 6:52 pm

Can you tell me the Device ID printed on the bottom of your HDHomeRun unit?

timstephens24
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Not subscribed

Post by timstephens24 » Sun May 19, 2019 4:33 am

131F24D4 and 131F8A20.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Not subscribed

Post by NedS » Sun May 19, 2019 8:12 am

It doesn't that appear either of those device IDs are associated with your account. It looks like maybe you had some OTA HDHomeRun tuners on your network, and they were tied to the DVR account, but are no longer on the network?

The DVR software basically looks at all your HDHomeRun tuners on the network and checks their IDs with our server, and if one of them is tied to a DVR account then the DVR software will make new recordings.

Send us an e-mail at support@silicondust.com and I'll send you the link to add the two Primes to your DVR account.

timstephens24
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Not subscribed

Post by timstephens24 » Sun May 19, 2019 8:21 am

I've had these Primes for about four years but I did have OTA devices on top of that.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8126
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Not subscribed

Post by signcarver » Sun May 19, 2019 9:51 am

The way the registration (enrollment) of tuners to your account works is that all tuners must be discovered at time of registering any not found are dropped from your account. If for some reason you want to segregate your network, temporarily put them all on one network when you register (though there could possibly be some potential issues if they don't connect to SD from the same public ip as the others in the future). The way the DVR works is that any tuner that has the same channel number can be used whether registered or not. Its possible that if you had PTV and were on comcast, the OTA tuners had the same channel number and thus allowed use of the primes even if not registered (if not on comcast the channel numbers would not have matched up) or you had clear qam which typically puts locals on the same channel number and a few markets they have clear qam have cable virtual channel numbers.

Post Reply