Fails to record

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
dennis48755
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:10 pm

Fails to record

Postby dennis48755 » Sat May 11, 2019 3:57 pm

Hi,

After performing flawlessly for years my DVR stopped recording.

The only tasks I have had for a while is to record Saturday Night Live and it has failed to record the past two episodes.

The Windows GUI lets me add a task to record but the recording never appears to happen.

I tried reinstalling the HDHomeRun DVR software (hdhomerun_windows_20190417) on my NAS but this didn't help.

my.hdhomerun.com shows my Prime but No HDHomeRun DVR detected.

I did replace my router with a WatchGuard Firebox T15 UTM Firewall. And my Comcast external IP may have changed. This, I believe, was prior to the recording failures.

DID: 13101B6C

Additionally, other functions of the DVR such as playing back recordings work fine.

Thanks for any help
Dennis

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13512
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Fails to record

Postby jasonl » Sun May 12, 2019 1:36 pm

We are not receiving any log data from your DVR, which most likely indicates that your firewall is blocking it from communicating with our server, which would prevent it from being able to record but would not prevent you from watching previous recordings. Suggest you configure the firewall not to do that.

dennis48755
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: Fails to record

Postby dennis48755 » Sun May 12, 2019 5:25 pm

Thanks jasonl,

Can you help me with any additional information as to what traffic/destination I need to allow to your server such as a FQDN and/or port(s) if applicable.

I tried adding an exception to allow traffic to "record-api.hdhomerun.com". But a don't yet see any sign that it is working.

When you can would you please check to see if you are getting anything from me now.

Thanks
Dennis

dennis48755
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: Fails to record

Postby dennis48755 » Sun May 12, 2019 6:24 pm

Doing a little more research on my firewall, I've learned, the default configuration I am running, allows all outgoing TCP and UDP connections.

So I could really use additional guidance.

Dennis

Update: I discovered this post (FAQ) viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21009&p=129426&hil ... LL#p129426 and believe I have created a firewall policy to allow UDP Port 65001. But http://my.hdhomerun.com/ still shows No HDHomeRun DVR detected.

Dennis

dennis48755
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: Fails to record

Postby dennis48755 » Mon May 13, 2019 1:21 pm

Good news (for me). my.hdhomerun.com now shows "HDHomeRun RECORD".

I did a couple things...
- since installing the WatchGuard Firebox, I've had problems with other devices on my network not liking my local Gateway IP as a DNS Server address which worked fine with my old firewall. So I changed the DNS Server IP address in my NAS to Googles 8.8.8.8 & Comcasts 75.75.75.75.
- the other thing I did was to rebooted my NAS and reinstall the DVR.

Dennis


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests