How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
thedoomster
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:14 pm
Device ID: 131CC070
Location: Rochester, NY

How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Post by thedoomster » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:03 am

I know I've seen this somewhere in the forums but unable to find. I believe it has a timer that automatically disables it after some time period.

I'm working two issues with Spectrum Support that I cannot reproduce myself - I either lose access to a subset of my subscribed channels (two different error messages), or lose access to 151 channels as those slices just disappear. This usually happens about every three days, on Mondays and Fridays, I believe it happens overnight but need more information to verify that. Bottom line is I need to discover if this a problem with Spectrum or the so-called "auto-discovery" that happens, or both. That's why I'd like SD to take a look at the log when this happens, and I'll be opening a trouble ticket. For their part, Spectrum is trying to reproduce the problem on a **** with TA.

If I enable it now will it stay enabled at least through Friday? Should I enable in both Setup and the Windows app? Do I have to reboot the Prime after I enable it?

garethw
Silicondust
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Post by garethw » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:09 am

10 days

thedoomster
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:14 pm
Device ID: 131CC070
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Post by thedoomster » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:56 am

Ok thanks, I assume I DON'T have to reboot the Prime?

Online
jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13644
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Post by jasonl » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:55 pm

Correct. We ask people to reboot so we can see the log data generated at startup, such as the statuses of the network and CableCARD.

thedoomster
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:14 pm
Device ID: 131CC070
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: How long does "Send Diagnostics" in Setup stay enabled?

Post by thedoomster » Tue May 28, 2019 8:44 am

thedoomster wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:03 am
I know I've seen this somewhere in the forums but unable to find. I believe it has a timer that automatically disables it after some time period.

I'm working two issues with Spectrum Support that I cannot reproduce myself - I either lose access to a subset of my subscribed channels (two different error messages), or lose access to 151 channels as those slices just disappear. This usually happens about every three days, on Mondays and Fridays, I believe it happens overnight but need more information to verify that. Bottom line is I need to discover if this a problem with Spectrum or the so-called "auto-discovery" that happens, or both. That's why I'd like SD to take a look at the log when this happens, and I'll be opening a trouble ticket. For their part, Spectrum is trying to reproduce the problem on a **** with TA.

If I enable it now will it stay enabled at least through Friday? Should I enable in both Setup and the Windows app? Do I have to reboot the Prime after I enable it?
I wanted to update this post to confirm the "disappearing channels" issue was due to a system problem at Spectrum and not auto-discovery or an out-dated Tuning Adapter. Spectrum responded to my issue (after a year and an FCC complaint) and has corrected this for me. So for the first time in well over a year I have stable cable card service and loving it. Those of you out there experiencing similar issues, there is hope!

Post Reply