Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:20 pm

I am having a problem playing a single channel on either of my HDHomeRun PRIMEs. All of the other channels I am authorized to view are working properly. I thought I would post this before I wade through Spectrum Customer Support.

Here is my configuration:

HDHR3-CC, DeviceID: 131F5C77, Firmware: 20180817
HDHR3-CC, DeviceID: 1322D8F0, Firmware: 20180817
HDHomeRun RECORD, Version: 20190410beta1 (Running on a Synology DS918+)

The problem does not seem to be client specific. If using the HDHomeRun App on a Nvidia Shield, I get the error: Unable to play channel Timeout error. Other apps such as VLC just sit there with a static screen.

I have tried power cycling both Tuning Adapters and PRIMEs.

Here are some of the system logs from the last time I cycled the power.

Code: Select all

19700101-00:00:00 System: reset reason = power on
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: USB device 07B2:6002 connected
19700101-00:00:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver connected
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: M-CARD inserted
19700101-00:00:03 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:04 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.192.167 / 255.255.255.0
19700101-00:00:04 CableCARD: Motorola card (0000:0625)
19700101-00:00:04 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication in progress
19700101-00:00:05 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
20190414-15:11:41 CableCARD: time changed from Thu Jan 01 00:00:12 1970 to Sun Apr 14 15:11:41 2019
20190414-15:12:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver downstream status: success
20190414-15:12:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver upstream status: success
20190414-15:12:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver authentication status: success
20190414-15:12:00 CableCARD: Tuning Resolver operational status: ready
.
.
20190415-02:55:04 Tuner: tuner1 tuning 619 America ##[This channel fails]
20190415-02:55:04 Tuner: tuner1 streaming http to 192.168.192.4:34818 ##[My Synology DS918+]
20190415-02:55:04 CableCARD: tuner1 619 America access = subscribed
20190415-02:55:14 Tuner: tuner1 http stream ended (remote closed)
.
.
20190415-03:10:27 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 603 WISC DT ##[This channel works]
20190415-03:10:27 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.192.174:64771 ##[My VLC Client]
20190415-03:10:27 CableCARD: tuner2 603 WISC DT access = subscribed
20190415-03:10:44 Tuner: tuner2 http stream ended (remote closed)
.
.
.
20190415-03:10:44 Tuner: tuner2 tuning 619 America ##[This channel fails]
20190415-03:10:45 Tuner: tuner2 streaming http to 192.168.192.174:64799 ##[My VLC client]
20190415-03:10:45 CableCARD: tuner2 619 America access = subscribed
20190415-03:19:30 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
I have enabled diagnostics on Device ID: 1322D8F0 and attempted to stream Channel 619 to my VLC client.

From my observations, it looks like this channel should be working. I'm hoping someone can help me out.

Thanks!

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:21 pm

Please enable the sending of diagnostic data, run a channel scan, try to watch the problem channel, then reply back and we'll check the logs. viewtopic.php?f=15&t=69066

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:30 pm

Send diagnostic information enabled, channel scan run and I have attempted to watch the problem channel 619 on Device ID: 1322D8F0.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:58 pm

Odd results. Please remove and reinsert the CableCARD, then reply back.

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:04 pm

Removed and re-inserted the cable card at 20190416-04:39:34 according to the system log. I did not cycle the power on the prime. I wasn't sure if you wanted me to do that.

FWIW, when I try to watch this channel, the Tuner Status indicates the the CCI Protection is protected-copyonce. However, the Channel Lineup does not indicate this channel as DRM, only HD. I suspect you are already seeing this in the diagnostic data. In the past his channel has always been unrestricted.

Also, I still have a STB from Spectrum and there are no issues watching Channel 619. I just wanted to confirm that Spectrum wasn't having some larger issue on this channel.

Code: Select all

20190416-04:39:34 CableCARD: M-CARD removed
20190416-04:39:45 CableCARD: M-CARD inserted
20190416-04:39:48 CableCARD: Motorola card (0000:0625)
20190416-04:39:48 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication in progress
20190416-04:39:48 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
.
.
Virtual Channel	619 America
Frequency	375.000 MHz
Program Number	453
Authorization	subscribed
CCI Protection	protected-copyonce
Modulation Lock	qam256
PCR Lock	locked
Signal Strength	100% (3.3 dBmV)
Signal Quality	100% (38.3 dB)
Symbol Quality	100%
Streaming Rate	0.084 Mbps
Resource Lock	192.168.192.174

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:20 am

That is what I'm seeing, and that's why it's not working. DRM channels have a different URL format to access, so the HDHomeRun has to know about that from the scan in order to get the correct results.

If you disconnect the TA and try watching 619, does that work?

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:58 pm

If you disconnect the TA and try watching 619, does that work?
Yes it does!

Is there anything else you can recommend that I try?

Something tells me a call to Spectrum Support is in my future since this seems to have happened to both of my Prime setups.

If that is my only recourse at this time, is there anything I can tell them to cut through some of the usual support scripts? I'm thinking 1st level support is not going to have a clue on what to do until I spend 20 or 30 minutes following their troubleshooting procedures.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:25 pm

It looks like the channel is being delivered twice, once as a regular linear channel and once as an SDV channel. The regular channel isn't copy protected, but the SDV one is. The channel scan uses the non-TA tuning information when possible, and only falls back to using the TA when it has to (this drastically speeds up the channel scan), while normal channel tuning always uses the TA (as required). This situation is something that should probably be fixed on Charter's end, either by setting the copy protection flags the same on both versions, or better yet, by eliminating one of the two versions, since there's no point in wasting bandwidth to deliver 2 copies of the same channel. I have no idea how you would convey this to get past the level 1 techs though.

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:44 pm

Thanks for tracking this issue down!

Now the challenge will be to convince Spectrum Support that it is not an equipment or cabling problem or have them point the finger at SiliconDust. Given that all of my other authorized channels are working properly on both Primes, I'm hoping that they figure that out and don't insist on rolling a truck to try and troubleshoot the problem from my home.

Is this an issue that is specific to the head-end equipment for my zip code or is the scope larger? Just trying to figure out a way to help support direct this information to the correct team.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:14 pm

My guess is that it's specific to the headend that serves your area. I don't have any way to confirm that.

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:02 pm

Does anyone happen to know if this issue would be a problem for T-i-V-o users that use CableCards and Tuning Adapters?

After going through the 'required process' to have this problem escalated, I now have a contact that can escalate this issue to the proper people. One of the things Spectrum is doing is attempting to reach out to T-i-V-o users to try and determine it they are experiencing this problem. My Spectrum contact is not at all familiar with the HDHomeRun Prime setup.

Since all of my other authorized channels are working properly, I hope they can figure out exactly what has gone wrong. I am a little concerned if this problem does not manifest itself on a T-i-V-o setup, they are going to point the finger back at SiliconDust.

If anyone on this forum is in the Madison WI Charter Spectrum market and using a Prime, it would be helpful if you could try Channel 619 and let me know if you can view that channel. I believe my area is being fed by the Fitchburg Headend.

It's a good thing I do not routinely watch that channel!

Thanks, Tom

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13828
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by jasonl » Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:38 pm

It probably won't affect other devices, as nothing else runs channel scans or streams channels the way we do. The only symptom you would see on a competitor's device would be that 619 would come up as non-copy-protected on those devices when a TA is not in use. Maybe bring that up to them, as Spectrum normally protects everything they can.

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:49 pm

Actually, in my market, everything is unrestricted except for premium services, which IMHO is the way it should be. :)

I'm hoping that there is another Prime user in my service area that will chime in and let me know if they are experiencing the problem.

thedoomster
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:14 pm
Device ID: 131CC070
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by thedoomster » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:16 am

This is the exact problem I currently have with the Golf Channel. I'm already working with the local service manager (thanks to the FCC) on other issues and he has set up a T-I-V-O+TA serviced by the same headend as I have. He's been able to reproduce all my problems so far except this one. And now I know why. I'm on Spectrum in upstate NY. I see Ch 66 Golf labeled as DRM in the program list but shows no CCI Protection in Tuner Status. I've passed this along to the service manager, who has a direct line to engineering so here's hoping. I'll post the results back here.

TBlankenheim
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:15 am

Re: Live TV - Unable to view single channel

Post by TBlankenheim » Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:27 pm

I have pretty much hit a dead end with Spectrum on this problem. After 3 truck rolls, one of which was a visit by a Technical Quality Assurance technician and Spectrum supposedly escalating this problem to a video engineer, because I am using a CableCard and Tuning Adapter, their only suggestion is to try a different Tuning Adapter. Since this problem is happening to both of my HDHR Prime setups, I am of the opinion I would be wasting more time going through that process. Given that the channel works properly on their STB (Pace DC550DR), they are even less motivated to investigate this problem any further. If I only could talk to the engineer responsible for configuring the head-end equipment. :(

What I ultimately learned is that the Tuning Adapter is delivering Channel 619 on a different frequency than the CableCard. In this case, the tuning adapter is mapped to 397.000 MHz. The CableCard is mapping Channel 619 to 285.000 MHz. So this is also an issue in addition to the discrepancy in the CCI Protection.

I prepared the following PDF to give to Spectrum in hopes that someone would find it useful. The tech that came to my home on July 13, 2019 read it and told me he would not even know whom to give it to. I have linked to it in case anyone would like to take a read.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1C7yOh ... OK-7U-EJBC

I do have one question for SiliconDust, since this channel is not a problem for Spectrum's STBs, is there some tidbit of information the CableCard delivers, that can tell the SD software that it should use the TA for channel resolution? I don't have a clue how the Pace STB works, but there must be something that determines if SDV should be used to tune the channel or not. Since I have no clue how head-ends are configured or exactly what is different between using a Spectrum provided STB vs a CableCard/TA setup, I'm pretty much on a fishing expedition.

This whole issue does not leave me hopeful for the future of user provided equipment for Cable TV!

Thanks,
Tom

Post Reply