NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
handyd
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby handyd » Sat Jan 26, 2019 1:51 pm

I'm getting the Unable to play channel, Content protection error on all my stations. I'm running app version 20190123a.

I have rebooted and cleared the data.

Any thoughts?

handydadtv
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:30 pm
Location: Freehold, NJ
Contact:

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby handydadtv » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:55 pm

Oh boy. I just hooked up my first PRIME yesterday (bought on eBay) and was so disappointed that I can't watch DRM channels on the Fire Stick. I read elsewhere on this forum that Shield plays DRM channels so I was JUST ABOUT TO BUY ONE until I read this. I have nothing to add, unfortunately, but I am eager to hear the outcome of this issue.

rrussis82
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby rrussis82 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:13 pm

DRM plays fine on my AndroidTV devices, MiBox and NVidia Shield

breezytm
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby breezytm » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:20 pm

Oh boy. I just hooked up my first PRIME yesterday (bought on eBay) and was so disappointed that I can't watch DRM channels on the Fire Stick. I read elsewhere on this forum that Shield plays DRM channels so I was JUST ABOUT TO BUY ONE until I read this. I have nothing to add, unfortunately, but I am eager to hear the outcome of this issue.
Sounds like an isolated issue. I own two Shield TV and they both play DRM.

wtg
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:21 am

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby wtg » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:55 am

If you're connected via WiFi I believe you have to enable location sharing for the app. Wired connection doesn't require this, but if you first connect with WiFi and then switch to wired, a reboot is necessary for the app to drop the requirement.

handyd
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:38 am
Device ID: 131092F3, 13122223, 13136631

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby handyd » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:33 pm

Thanks all. I'm running an engineering sample of the OS due to another issue and according to nick, it broke DRM. I'm working with Nvidia now.

Dartman
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm

Re: NVidia Shield Unable to play protected content

Postby Dartman » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:06 pm

Just recently picked up a gaming bundle Sheild during the after holiday sales. It is supposed to support much of the drm type stuff but I'm just using plex with it and my Roku Ultra and it would be great if it could deal with protected channels on my cable system that my Prime can. Happy with it no matter as I've wanted one since they came out but didn't want to spend the money they wanted, it finally got low enough and some toy money broke free.


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 7 guests