WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Tree 5
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:30 pm

WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby Tree 5 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:34 pm

Sorry if this has been asked.

My DVR is running on this NAS. My 1st drive is almost full. Is there a way to set the DVR to record to the drive on Volume 2? Or should I move my recordings manually from Volume 1 to Volume 2? I have set up a Share folder on volume 2.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7816
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby signcarver » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:22 pm

No need for a share (never a need for a share except to do SD's install from windows setup)... i tend to move to also clean up and also ensure working write permissions work (i have seen some have issues when recording to a new location) but the way one includes a subsequent path is add it to the same hdhomerun.conf file for the record path

See viewtopic.php?f=92&t=20619#p223644

Tree 5
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby Tree 5 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:20 am

Should it look like this?

RecordPath=/shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;additional search path=/shares/Public2/HDHomeRun/

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7816
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby signcarver » Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:52 am

No, if you are asking what I think you are about the line in the hdhomerun.conf file, it would look like RecordPath=/shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;/shares/Public2/HDHomeRun/ assuming those are the two paths you want (each path to look for files in is separated by just a ; )

also based on your first post, you may wish to reverse the RecordPath=/shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;/shares/Public2/HDHomeRun/ to
RecordPath=/shares/Public2/HDHomeRun/;/shares/Public/HDHomeRun/
depending on which location you wish to record to as the first one specified is the recording location. Though my preference is usually to move the files over to the newly added path as you know the permissions are fine for where you are currently recording (since it is working)... but adding the new path to the first position in the list would usually mean no other work is needed (provided there isn't an issue accessing (writing to) that location, which sometimes can be tedious to track down)

one can also do something like RecordPath=null;/shares/Public2/HDHomeRun/ if they wish for the engine to work only for storage, not recording... (if you happen to have 2 engines running (i.e. 2 NAS's)

Also anytime you make such changes to the config file, make sure to restart the engine for the changes to take place (it may take a while to "index" all the recordings).

Tree 5
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby Tree 5 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:48 pm

I'm using notepad++

It won't let me save the file. I can edit it but it won't save. regular notepad wouldn't work either.
It says "Please check if this file is opened in another program."
I turned off the dvr. I turned off Plex. same error.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3435
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: WD My Cloud Pro 4100

Postby NYPlayer » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:51 pm

I'm using notepad++

It won't let me save the file. I can edit it but it won't save. regular notepad wouldn't work either.
It says "Please check if this file is opened in another program."
I turned off the dvr. I turned off Plex. same error.
You have to login with Putty or something else and change the permission it is read only.


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Keenan and 6 guests