1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
vicpa
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:32 pm

1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby vicpa » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:19 am

Hi,

the app recently updated to 261 and now I receive the above error when I attempt to play any channel. Win 1809 pro if that matters.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby nateb » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:44 am

I assume this is the Win10 app, right? I just updated and cannot replicate. You might make sure your firmware is up to date by visiting my.HDHomeRun.com and selecting Version and then updating if possible.

If that doesn't work, we'll need your diagnostic info.

1) Please turn on "send diagnostic information" on the HDHomeRun itself by going to http://my.hdhomerun.com/ and selecting the device, System menu, and click the option to enable.

2) Please turn on "send diagnostic information" in the HDHomeRun app - press play/pause 13 times to open.

vicpa
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:32 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby vicpa » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:53 am

yes the win 10 app, firmware is up to date.

You can close this for now, a reboot of the box running the dvr, etc seems to have corrected the issue. Odd in that I have never had to do that.

thanks for the quick reply! will repost if it proves to be an ongoing issue.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 14931
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby nickk » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:26 am

Protocol error almost always means some third party security software is messing with communication.

BitDefender is known to do this.

Nick

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12881
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby jasonl » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:10 pm

Protocol error usually means you have a DVR running that has an unusable recording location (external drive that didn't exist when the system was booted up, or NAS that ran into filesystem errors and did not mount the shares). Bitdefender is usually a timeout error.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby nateb » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:20 pm

yes the win 10 app, firmware is up to date.

You can close this for now, a reboot of the box running the dvr, etc seems to have corrected the issue. Odd in that I have never had to do that.

thanks for the quick reply! will repost if it proves to be an ongoing issue.
I love it when rebooting actually works. If it wouldn't annoy people, I'd love to start every post with:

Image

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12881
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby jasonl » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:28 pm

Don't forget the second part, "Are you sure that it's plugged in?".

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: 1.1.261 Unable to Play channel protocol error

Postby nateb » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:43 pm

Of course it's plugged in!!!

Image


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests