Audio drop out with Nvidia Shield

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
dshookowsky

Audio drop out with Nvidia Shield

Postby dshookowsky » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:25 pm

I've been running HDHomerun for a few years. I recently purchased a NVidia Shield TV to replace my Raspberry Pi 3. The Pi3 worked fine, but was unable to view the DRM channels. The NVidia can view the DRM channels, but unfortunately, the audio stops every 10 minutes or so. This only seems to happen with the HDHomerun app so far. I was able to watch several programs on Netflix without issue.

This is a problem with live TV and recordings. The Shield is connected via HDMI to the receiver and from the receiver to the TV via HDMI.

This started as a flawless Windows 7 Media center that could playback and record all content (DRM included) and has steadily gotten worse.

asauers

Re: Audio drop out with Nvidia Shield

Postby asauers » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:28 am

does the picture also freeze/breakup? it happens every 10 min or so and lasts for 3-4 seconds. this has been happening for me for several weeks. Nvidia shield and Nexus player (both hardwired), so it's not a shield specific issue.

jasonl
Silicondust

Postby jasonl » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:09 pm

Any difference if you bring up the settings screen (play/pause 13x or tap the volume slider 26x) and turn off Use AC3 passthrough?

dshookowsky

Postby dshookowsky » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:33 pm

The picture is fine. This is an audio-only issue

I never knew there was an option for AC3 passthrough - that's well-hidden. Giving that a shot to see if it affects anything.

dshookowsky

Postby dshookowsky » Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:24 pm

I've enabled AC3 passthrough from that settings dialog and that seems to have solved the issue.

delvirtud

Postby delvirtud » Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:44 pm

I've enabled AC3 passthrough from that settings dialog and that seems to have solved the issue.