roku media player works - why no app?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
robak1965
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

roku media player works - why no app?

Postby robak1965 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:40 pm

I know this has been beat to death, but just a POI.

If the roku media player "channel/app" can play the hdhomerun channels, does this not mean that it is possible to have an official hdhomerun app for the roku? Roku media player is an "app", right? How about make an app that works like it does?

Anyway, just asking.
Robert

GetMatt
Posts: 1711
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby GetMatt » Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:49 pm

I know this has been beat to death, but just a POI.

If the roku media player "channel/app" can play the hdhomerun channels, does this not mean that it is possible to have an official hdhomerun app for the roku? Roku media player is an "app", right? How about make an app that works like it does?

Anyway, just asking.
Robert
I’m guessing that you are using Roku TV. The TVs support mpeg2 because they have to (they are a TV). None of the other Roku devices support mpeg2 playback. Most TV is mpeg2.

robak1965
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby robak1965 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 2:53 pm

NOT a roku TV. I'm using a Roku Ultra.
Works like a champ using roku media player to play hdhomerun channels directly.

Neptunetides1983
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby Neptunetides1983 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:58 pm

I assume Roku may not want an app that will only work on the TV's, and apparently new Ultra (?) only. The media Player app on every other Roku device, will not display HDHomerun content.

But, never say never. Things change daily in this industry. Who would have guessed a month ago that HDHomerun would be offering a Premium TV service? Come on,...nobody was hinting that was coming.

daurora
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:38 pm
Device ID: EXTEND 10504C45, CONNECT 1040082F & CONNECT Quatro 10712728
Location: Coming Soon!

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby daurora » Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:25 pm

Yea, I find that interesting that the Roku Ultra will play Mpeg2 transport streams; since I have the Roku '4'; which is only one generation before the Ultra and it is a no go with Silicondust tuner streams.

This falls under the "I'm from Missouri" category.

@robak1965 : Could you post your Software Version and Build number for the Roku Ultra?

Noah0504
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:37 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby Noah0504 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:03 pm

I can confirm that the Streaming Stick+ will also play MPEG2.

robak1965
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby robak1965 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:52 pm

I have 2 roku ultras that both work with HDHR OTA channels and HDHR Premium channels in Roku media player.

I have 1 Roku Streaming Stick+, works on HDHR OTA channels and HDHR premium channels in Roku media player.

ROKU Ultra (2nd gen model 4660) software 8.1.0 build 4145-46
ROKU Ultra (1st gen model 4640) software 8.1.0 build 4145-25
Streaming Stick+ (model 3810) software 8.1.0 build 4155-50

Standard builds from roku, no beta's.

Roku models 1-4 No-Go on OTA channels in Roku media player.

@daurora - Roku 4 was junk IMHO, plagued with issues, hence it's short lifespan, I shelved mine as soon as ultra's were out.

daurora
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:38 pm
Device ID: EXTEND 10504C45, CONNECT 1040082F & CONNECT Quatro 10712728
Location: Coming Soon!

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby daurora » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:46 am

@robak1965 - thanks for posting that information. Fortunately, I didn't continue buying other Roku's; since I could see that this product would never be supported by SiliconDust. So while you were busy shopping for Roku's, I was buying the MI Box Android TV players and I am glad I did. These are at least SiliconDust supported clients and work well with their Android App.

Cayars
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:55 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby Cayars » Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:05 am

Another "solution" would be to run Emby or Plex server and use the respective client on the Roku which will play Live TV just fine.

Noah0504
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:37 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby Noah0504 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 7:17 am

Another "solution" would be to run Emby or Plex server and use the respective client on the Roku which will play Live TV just fine.
They'll both transcode OTA channels, but will remux PTV streams (local quality setting on Roku has to be set to Original). Of course, I swear when I first tried Emby, it was direct streaming OTA channels. Not now though, so who knows.

robak1965
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby robak1965 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:12 am

@robak1965 - thanks for posting that information. Fortunately, I didn't continue buying other Roku's; since I could see that this product would never be supported by SiliconDust. So while you were busy shopping for Roku's, I was buying the MI Box Android TV players and I am glad I did. These are at least SiliconDust supported clients and work well with their Android App.
I agree, and I did the same thing. I also have mi box's, and shield TV devices and I prefer them for myself for sure. My family prefers Roku's simple interface.

I like the hdhomerun app for live TV at home, but use plex and emby for remote viewing.

Hence my OP. Roku's are now capable, and direct playing with an app/channel off loads my servers from transcoding (many users). This is why I use roku media player currently. Emby direct plays, but plex is a transcoding nightmare, but works.

BTW, I think the quatro's are great devices, use them constantly.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12949
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby jasonl » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:12 pm

Curious if Roku will update their codec list in the developer information to indicate that MPEG2 is officially supported on those devices and will presumably remain available in the future.

tpm
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:09 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby tpm » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:22 pm

Another "solution" would be to run Emby or Plex server and use the respective client on the Roku which will play Live TV just fine.
They'll both transcode OTA channels, but will remux PTV streams (local quality setting on Roku has to be set to Original). Of course, I swear when I first tried Emby, it was direct streaming OTA channels. Not now though, so who knows.
Are you getting PTV in good quality on the Roku when set to Original? Mine is having tons of dropped frames and audio drop-outs in Plex.

chateau
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby chateau » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:38 pm

I have a Roku Streaming Stick (one that presently sells for $49 at WalMart) and it can see all the HomeRun OTA channels but cannot play them. Says Codec not supported or something like that.

It will play the HDHomeRun Premium Demo Channels but takes several seconds to load and play a channel. Closed captions works if turned on in the Roku Options.

Just noticed that the Premium channels it can see and play start at 1403 and go to 1755. Everything below 1403 is missing.

robak1965
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:30 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Postby robak1965 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:30 pm

I have a Roku Streaming Stick (one that presently sells for $49 at WalMart) and it can see all the HomeRun OTA channels but cannot play them. Says Codec not supported or something like that.

It will play the HDHomeRun Premium Demo Channels but takes several seconds to load and play a channel. Closed captions works if turned on in the Roku Options.

Just noticed that the Premium channels it can see and play start at 1403 and go to 1755. Everything below 1403 is missing.
In all my tests only Rokus that work are:
Streaming Stick+
Roku Ultra


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests