Grid Guide

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
ldoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:36 pm

Grid Guide

Postby ldoodle » Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:45 pm

Hey,

Just got the Quatro (UK) with DVR service and loving it, with my Shield TV 2017. Only complaint is the guide - a bit fiddly - why no traditional style grid?

Seen the Channels app but that's not available on Android phones!!

Thanks

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Grid Guide

Postby signcarver » Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:12 pm

Discussion of reasons why is prohibited by forum rules.

At one time nickk himself posted what was told them by **** if they used grid and did not use **** for guide data (and personally am glad they don't use them for data as it is awful)

ldoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:36 pm

Re: Grid Guide

Postby ldoodle » Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:49 am

Why?

Grid style is everywhere... set-top boxes, free-to-air reception TVs, premium subscription services. It just is. A cheap £100 TV in UK has grid style guide.

Are you basically saying "never" (from SiliconDust)? I don't think I'll be able to stay with SD's software long-term (as I said before hardware is great though).

Do you guys in the US have some sort of legal thing with the style/layout/design of a guide system?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15281
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby nickk » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:18 am

A grid guide is a way to solve a number of problems, but when you look at the usage it really doesn't solve any of them all that well.

We have split things into a live TV slice view and Discover Now Showing to provide a better solution. We have major update to Now Showing as part of the UI upgrade that is in the works.

Nick

neil459
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby neil459 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:13 am

. . . . Grid style is everywhere... set-top boxes, free-to-air reception TVs, premium subscription services. It just is. A cheap £100 TV in UK has grid style guide.

Are you basically saying "never" (from SiliconDust)? I don't think I'll be able to stay with SD's software long-term (as I said before hardware is great though). . . . .
Yep me too. SD saying grid is terrible, then putting forth the current UI, does not give one confidence in their ability to understand what I want.

dfleenor
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:37 pm
Device ID: 13112ED0

Re: Grid Guide

Postby dfleenor » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:57 am

I would love to see SD actually take a customer survey on the Grid Guide versus the Slice Guide issue and get some real numbers on what it's customers prefer/want. My vote would be Yes for a grid guide or at the very least allow customers the option to turn off the transparency on the Slice Guide to make it more readable.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Grid Guide

Postby gtb » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:13 pm

I ....
You have choices of solutions, pick what you want. Do not increase my cost per month for your desires.

Deihmos
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Grid Guide

Postby Deihmos » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:49 pm

On my HTPC there is no way I can use the app because of the guide and how it works with remotes. On my laptop I can use it. I really wish they had a decent app so I could use it with Windows 10 so for now I just stick with 8.1 for WMC.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15281
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby nickk » Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:30 pm

On my HTPC there is no way I can use the app because of the guide and how it works with remotes. On my laptop I can use it. I really wish they had a decent app so I could use it with Windows 10 so for now I just stick with 8.1 for WMC.
What remote do you have and what problem are you seeing controlling the Win10 app with it?

GGRussell
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: Grid Guide

Postby GGRussell » Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:54 pm

I just stick with 8.1 for WMC.
I use my old Win Media Center remote with HDHomeRun on Win 10 Pro. Works fine for me.

younginvisions01
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:52 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby younginvisions01 » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:02 am

Why not make both styles a choice to the customers? Having a choice is better than being forced adopt to something that is completely different and doesn't work the same way. A grid guide is much easier to understand, set recordings, and see future shows, all in one screen. I do like the slice style, but it's not near as convenient to use as the old grid style. Being able to use both, (toggle between) would be the best thing to offer.

younginvisions01
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:52 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby younginvisions01 » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:05 am

GGRussell: How did you get your old remote to work in window10? What remote do you have?

GGRussell
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: Grid Guide

Postby GGRussell » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:37 am

GGRussell: How did you get your old remote to work in window10? What remote do you have?
I have an HP WMC remote that includes the USB IR receiver. It came with a Digital tuner for the HP D7 media laptop that I sold years ago. Granted there are many buttons for WMC that won't work in HDHomeRun, but the navigation buttons, play, pause, volume all work. IF SD ever gets the UWP app to recognize numerical input, I would be set.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15281
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Grid Guide

Postby nickk » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:44 am

I have an HP WMC remote that includes the USB IR receiver. It came with a Digital tuner for the HP D7 media laptop that I sold years ago. Granted there are many buttons for WMC that won't work in HDHomeRun, but the navigation buttons, play, pause, volume all work. IF SD ever gets the UWP app to recognize numerical input, I would be set.
Double-checking, are you using it with a PC or XBox?

There is a known bug in the XBox OS where the number keys don't work.

GGRussell
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: Grid Guide

Postby GGRussell » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:54 am

Double-checking, are you using it with a PC or XBox?
There is a known bug in the XBox OS where the number keys don't work.
Both -- you are correct, it works on Win 10 Pro. Not on XBox. I use Harmony 650 on XBox.


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests