Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
GGRussell
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 10802801
x 2

Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by GGRussell »

First time I have ever run out of tuners. :-) I had a movie on Hallmark set one time only for my sister, but no tuners available. It will reair in a few days. So is that automatic or do I need to actually set it again for One Time Record?

mike808
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:30 pm
Device ID: (K) Extend 10522C9A ; Quatro 10740D6C
Location: US

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by mike808 »

I don't think it will because the start/end time to record are part of the record job settings. I would setup another one-time recording for the other airing.

If you want to make sure you record something (and run into tuner conflicts or weather or even network interruptions or delays *cough* CBS on Sunday nights after football games *cough*), then just do a "record all" for the show and then delete the job and delete the extra recordings. It's more work, but you will end up with a clean recording of the show.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16226
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 73

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by nickk »

One-time recording rules record the extact time+channel chosen. The rule has no use/meaning after that exact time (ie wont re-record the episode).

Note that one-time rules are higher priority than series rules so if your other rules are series rules the ont-time rule will record.

Nick

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9319
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by signcarver »

nickk wrote: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:06 pmNote that one-time rules are higher priority than series rules so if your other rules are series rules the ont-time rule will record.
I believe an exception to such is when all tuners are in use and padding takes it past the start of the one time rule on another channel. Or at least that is how it used to behave.

JustFax
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 1:42 pm

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by JustFax »

mike808 wrote: Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:57 am I don't think it will because the start/end time to record are part of the record job settings. I would setup another one-time recording for the other airing.

If you want to make sure you record something (and run into tuner conflicts or weather or even network interruptions or delays *cough* CBS on Sunday nights after football games *cough*), then just do a "record all" for the show and then delete the job and delete the extra recordings. It's more work, but you will end up with a clean recording of the show.
If CBS's "60 Minutes" is what you want to view, and its airing was delayed by a sports telecast (as it often is), then you can stream it from "https://www.cbsnews.com/60-minutes/overtime/" after it airs. Apparently, there is no way to schedule a recording by channel, date, and time using HDHomeRun. I used to do the latter when I was using a Channel Master DVR+ by scheduling 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM on Sunday evenings.

GGRussell
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 10802801
x 2

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by GGRussell »

Didn't record again. The Christmas House at 8pm on Hallmark. I searched through the log file and there nothing. Not even a tuner error. I KNOW it was in the list to record. It just didn't record at all even though there was a tuner available. I rescheduled it again.

Found this:
20201122-23:01:31 Recording: event The Christmas House 20200101 [20201123-0100] in future
But shouldn't it have started at GMT 0100?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16226
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 73

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by nickk »

GGRussell wrote: Sun Nov 22, 2020 7:46 pm 20201122-23:01:31 Recording: event The Christmas House 20200101 [20201123-0100] in future
But shouldn't it have started at GMT 0100?
The message is correct as the message was generated before 0100 so at the time the recording was in the future.

At 0100 all 3 tuners were in use...
The Angel Tree was already being recorded.
Renovation Inc S01E13 started recording.
Pandora S02E07 started recording.
The Christmas House failed to start due to all 3 tuners being in use.

Nick

GGRussell
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 10802801
x 2

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by GGRussell »

Interesting that Pandora used the Prime! I thought the Connect 4K OTA would be used first. I'll have to 'X' out my OTA stations on the Prime to get this to record OTA on the Connect 4K?

I really like HDHomeRun system, but I find things like this unacceptable. If there was no Prime tuner available, the app should have fail over to the Connect 4K to record Pandora. When I check the Tasks tab, it does list both devices for that Show. This just shouldn't happen. There were plenty of unused tuners!

PS I do have two Primes, but disconnected one so I could transition to the Connect 4K. My biggest complaint with HDHomeRun is recording conflicts. The user never knows if one does exist and we end up with missed recordings that never re-air.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1683
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 74

Re: Q: Will HDHomeRun auto re record a One Time Recording

Post by NedS »

Pandora should have gone to the OTA channel/CONNECT before the PRIME, so that is odd. We will investigate.

Post Reply