Is it possible to pause tasks?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
MNOiSY
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:17 pm

Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby MNOiSY » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:16 am

I will be traveling for over a month and want to pause all my recording tasks but NOT delete them.

Is that possible?

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3573
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby gtb » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:26 am

Is that possible?
I am not entirely sure if this is what you are asking, but if you stop the DVR recorder engine it is not going to be recording. Depending on whether you are using a NAS, or a PC, you may have slightly different ways to stop the engine (shutdown the NAS or PC, stop the HDHR service, uninstall the HDHR service, turn off the shield)? I suppose you could also turn off the tuner devices (so all the recordings will fail when it tries to record).

mcewinter
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby mcewinter » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:05 pm

I will be traveling for over a month and want to pause all my recording tasks but NOT delete them.

Is that possible?
I would imagine you can just go into your settings and de-select that PC.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3076
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Location: Portland OR, 97217 Device ID: 13147C7B,131A192A

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby NYPlayer » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:40 pm

If it is on a PC just disable the HDHomeRun RECORD service.... and enable when you get back … if on a NAS turn off the APP on the NAS... I think GTB gave you all the options … would be easier to answer if you tell us where you have the DVR running.

MNOiSY
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby MNOiSY » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:19 pm

I am on a Synology NAS. If anyone has a quick CLI input to stop the service that would be helpful.

This will work for now but my concern is that when I get back and restart the service on my NAS, it will still record all those shows I missed. I was hoping there was an easy way to pause it and simply resume with bypassing missed episodes. I record A LOT and use MCEBuddy to strip ads but will simply be downloading when on the road.

I hope that makes sense?

MNOiSY
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby MNOiSY » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:27 am

Anyone?

NYPlayer
Posts: 3076
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Location: Portland OR, 97217 Device ID: 13147C7B,131A192A

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby NYPlayer » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:36 am

Anyone?
These are commands I use on my MyCloudPR4100 using PLINK I am sure in Synology would work similarly you would just have to substitute where your shares are.... user and password

Stop Service
"c:\HDHRTOOLS\plink.exe" -l root -pw password MyCloudPR4100 cd /shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;hdhomerun_dvr stop;exit

Start Service
"c:\HDHRTOOLS\plink.exe" -l root -pw password MyCloudPR4100 cd /shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;hdhomerun_dvr start;exit

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12614
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby jasonl » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:42 pm

There isn't a way to prevent it from recording repeats of episodes missed while you had the DVR off.

MNOiSY
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby MNOiSY » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:06 am

Anyone?
These are commands I use on my MyCloudPR4100 using PLINK I am sure in Synology would work similarly you would just have to substitute where your shares are.... user and password

Stop Service
"c:\HDHRTOOLS\plink.exe" -l root -pw password MyCloudPR4100 cd /shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;hdhomerun_dvr stop;exit

Start Service
"c:\HDHRTOOLS\plink.exe" -l root -pw password MyCloudPR4100 cd /shares/Public/HDHomeRun/;hdhomerun_dvr start;exit
Thank you for this although it does not apply to Synology.

Does anyone know it for the Synology Diskstation?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12614
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Is it possible to pause tasks?

Postby jasonl » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

If you're using the install package, I believe there's an on/off switch in the Apps area on the NAS's web interface.


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests