plex transcodes ota tv even though i have extend

Help and support with third-party TV software.
Windows Media Center, J River Media Center, Next PVR, MythTV, InstaTV, etc.
Post Reply
consorts
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:41 am
Device ID: 378163771 55318008
Location: NYC

plex transcodes ota tv even though i have extend

Post by consorts » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:29 pm

i have the SiliconDust HDHomeRun EXTEND
which has a buit in h264 transcoder set to;
DLNA format: 30fps 720p AVC (lowest res)

PLEX Server is a Windows 10 desktop pc
PLEX Client app is amazon fire 4k stick

when I play video files, the server cpu does little work
when I play a tuner channel, the server cpu works hard
like it's redundantly transcoding between the tuner and client.

how do i make PLEX depend solely on the transcoding
that is already being done by the HDHR Extend's CPU
so the Server(Win10) is not burdened with double work.

advanced, settings, transcoder, disable video stream transcoding
only makes things worse, channels don't play on the fire4k at all
even though my Extend can do all the transcoding needed.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 808
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: plex transcodes ota tv even though i have extend

Post by NedS » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:22 pm

Plex should have EXTEND-specific settings when you set the tuner up in the Live TV & DVR section that will tell it to use EXTEND transcoding.

consorts
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:41 am
Device ID: 378163771 55318008
Location: NYC

Re: plex transcodes ota tv even though i have extend

Post by consorts » Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:05 am

thanks ned for taking the time to post ;) using this settings match i was able to stop the win10 plex server from doing all that redundant transcoding cpu%, i was upset after spending the extend premium, it didn't seem to play nice with plex, so i'm relieved to resolve this. plex is doing a 3-month free ota-tv feature enable (without paying for the plex pass) so i'm guessing more extend owners new to plex may run into this issue, so i post this screen in hopes of helping others with this. it's a shame your $35/yr software can't simply play my own video files as it does the dvr files it creates, otherwise i would not have to mess with getting plex|emby to work in it's place.

Image

Post Reply