HELP - WMC Sees Only 2 of 3 tuners in HDHomerun Prime

Help and support with third-party TV software.
Windows Media Center, J River Media Center, Next PVR, MythTV, InstaTV, etc.
Post Reply
Tedf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:46 pm

HELP - WMC Sees Only 2 of 3 tuners in HDHomerun Prime

Post by Tedf »

I have spent many hours trying to figure out why one of the three tuners has become invisible to and unusable by WMC. I have searched online for a solution. Windows can see all three tuners. So can HDHR Setup. 20210301. But WMC Settings - TV - TV Signal - Digital Tuner Diagnostics recognizes only 2 tuners. -1 and -2. -0 is missing and WMC cannot use it. The HDHR app has no difficulty using it. I can send you many more details but perhaps there is a simple solution I have overlooked in hours of reading your documentation and forum. Oh. I forgot to say that I had no trouble using three tuners for years before this problem suddenly appeared.

I opened a support ticket with Silicondust a week ago and received a message: "Your request has been assigned ticket #147334. A Silicondust representative will reply shortly." So far as I can tell, Silicondust has not contacted me since so I'm hoping someone on this board will have seen a problem like this. What surprises me is that Windows can still see three tuners, but WMC cannot. How can this be? :shock:

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15561
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 36

Re: HELP - WMC Sees Only 2 of 3 tuners in HDHomerun Prime

Post by jasonl »

Have you rebooted and gone through the TV Signal setup wizard? WMC usually gets cranky like that if it tries to access a tuner and encounters an error, usually due to the tuner being in use by something else. One or the other of a reboot or going through setup again will usually knock some sense back into it. Just make sure that nothing is using any tuner when you do that.

Tedf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: HELP - WMC Sees Only 2 of 3 tuners in HDHomerun Prime

Post by Tedf »

Thanks, jasonl. The TV signal setup wizard found 3 tuners and WMC is functional.
A few points for someone who comes across this thread because they have a similar problem:
1. When I ran the TV signal setup wizard, I got messages saying I had to contact my cable company. I ignored these to see if that was really necessary.
2. When I got to the end of the wizard, I got a spinning donut for over five minutes and almost gave up hope, but the process finished.
3. At that point, I went to the TV guide to see if I could access 3 channels simultaneously and found the listings gone. No information on any channel.
4. Like most WMC users, I have been using EPG123 as my program guide. It's possible that the reason my listings had disappeared is because running setup had severed the connection to EPG123. I noticed in some EPG123 documentation that answering yes to accept Microsoft licensing during the Signal Setup could screw something up for EPG123. Maybe that was a problem, maybe not. I just plowed through the Wizard without responding to any of the questions except to say Next.
5. My EPG123 software was out of date, so I just downloaded the latest EPG123 software and installed it on top of my old EPG123.
6. All of the apparent channel selection appeared to disappear. I haven't touched EPG123 in years so ....
7. I shut down EPG123, reentered, and then proceeded to match stations by #number (a button on the EPG123 control panel).
8. Magic. Everything started to work. My channel listings were all repopulated in WMC. My scheduled recordings are all fine. And I could record two channels and view a third at the same time.
I wish HDHomerun Prime was more of an appliance and less of a hobby, but it's great that jasonl is still on the case! :D

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15561
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 36

Re: HELP - WMC Sees Only 2 of 3 tuners in HDHomerun Prime

Post by jasonl »

Microsoft killing WMC was one of the worst decisions they ever made. They stopped development just when it was needed most as multi-tuner CableCARD devices became available and cord cutting became a thing.

Post Reply