Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Help and support with third-party TV software.
Windows Media Center, EyeTV, MythTV, InstaTV, etc.
kkornegay
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:33 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby kkornegay » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:27 pm

I was wondering why i kept seeing this weak signal message lately in live channels. So, is there a work around? Can you just rollback the app specific updates and it begins to work or what?

thetesterman
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:59 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby thetesterman » Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:26 am

I was wondering why i kept seeing this weak signal message lately in live channels. So, is there a work around? Can you just rollback the app specific updates and it begins to work or what?
Yes, this seems to be what most of us are doing, unfortunately that previous version has its own issues.. For me it crashes once every couple of days.. Also, it is not doing a good job of recording some shows.

senorsharkfin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:58 pm

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby senorsharkfin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:13 pm

I've taken another look into this issue and I don't think it's a problem directly related to Live Channels or HDHR. I have both nvidia STV's and Nexus Players and I can only reproduce/create the tuner issue when using the STV. Both the STV (v6.2) and Nexus Player (Oreo - v8) are using Live Channels 1.16.003. I know that issue can be resolved by downgrading the Live Channels App and disabling updates, but on my Nexus Players I can change channels and close out of Live Channels and it always correctly releases the HDHR Tuners... so it doesn't look to be directly associated to Live Channels 1.16.003.

One thing that caught my attention in the Development Guide for HDHR is that a video stream or tuner is in use (reserved) until the TCP Connection is closed by the client.

From the HDHR Development Guide:
"The stream will continue until the TCP connection is closed by the client or the specified duration
is reached, at which point the tuner will become available for other client requests."

I've run packet captures watching communication between the STV and Nexus Players to HDHR while using Live Channels and it's clear that the Nexus Player is always releasing (via TCP FIN) HDHR Tuners prior to changing channels or when the Live Channels App is closed. When analyzing the communication from the Shield TV, it never sends a TCP FIN to close out the connection and release the HDHR Tuner before starting the New Channel / Tuner Request and this is what leads to the HDHR Tuner exhaustion issue (Weak Signal Message)

Nexus Player - Changing Channels (Tuner is released before every channel change)
20171120-01:05:21 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10.1 KSAZ-DT (8vsb:195MHz-3)
20171120-01:05:22 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.220:36332
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 12.1 KPNX-HD (8vsb:207MHz-1)
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.220:36334
20171120-01:05:44 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)

Shield TV - Changing Channels (Tuner is never released when changing channels)
20171120-01:20:59 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10.1 KSAZ-DT (8vsb:195MHz-3)
20171120-01:20:59 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.235:53884
20171120-01:21:24 Tuner: tuner1 tuning 12.1 KPNX-HD (8vsb:207MHz-1)
20171120-01:21:24 Tuner: tuner1 streaming http to 192.168.1.235:53897
20171120-01:21:32 HTTP: rejecting request from 192.168.1.235 - all tuners in use

Nexus Player & HDHR / Live Channels 1.16.003:
https://ibb.co/cdpZTR

Shield TV & HDHR / Live Channels 1.16.003:
https://ibb.co/kk1W8R

@SiliconDust Team - Can we raise this issue with NVIDIA & Google, as it looks like the HDHR Tuner Close Request is failing w/ the combination of STV using Live Channels 1.16.003. I'll post these findings in the Shield TV Forums as well, but may be faster if you have direct contacts.

mikeb
Silicondust
Posts: 1016
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:20 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby mikeb » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:24 pm

@SiliconDust Team - Can we raise this issue with NVIDIA & Google, as it looks like the HDHR Tuner Close Request is failing w/ the combination of STV using Live Channels 1.16.003. I'll post these findings in the Shield TV Forums as well, but may be faster if you have direct contacts.
Honestly I'd say just switch to using the HDHomeRun app as an input source. We've reported bugs with the network tuner since before it was even made public (and detailed instructions on how to fix them) which they still haven't gotten around to.

hlt4668
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 8:46 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby hlt4668 » Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:42 pm

I've taken another look into this issue and I don't think it's a problem directly related to Live Channels or HDHR. I have both nvidia STV's and Nexus Players and I can only reproduce/create the tuner issue when using the STV. Both the STV (v6.2) and Nexus Player (Oreo - v8) are using Live Channels 1.16.003. I know that issue can be resolved by downgrading the Live Channels App and disabling updates, but on my Nexus Players I can change channels and close out of Live Channels and it always correctly releases the HDHR Tuners... so it doesn't look to be directly associated to Live Channels 1.16.003.

One thing that caught my attention in the Development Guide for HDHR is that a video stream or tuner is in use (reserved) until the TCP Connection is closed by the client.

From the HDHR Development Guide:
"The stream will continue until the TCP connection is closed by the client or the specified duration
is reached, at which point the tuner will become available for other client requests."

I've run packet captures watching communication between the STV and Nexus Players to HDHR while using Live Channels and it's clear that the Nexus Player is always releasing (via TCP FIN) HDHR Tuners prior to changing channels or when the Live Channels App is closed. When analyzing the communication from the Shield TV, it never sends a TCP FIN to close out the connection and release the HDHR Tuner before starting the New Channel / Tuner Request and this is what leads to the HDHR Tuner exhaustion issue (Weak Signal Message)

Nexus Player - Changing Channels (Tuner is released before every channel change)
20171120-01:05:21 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10.1 KSAZ-DT (8vsb:195MHz-3)
20171120-01:05:22 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.220:36332
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 12.1 KPNX-HD (8vsb:207MHz-1)
20171120-01:05:31 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.220:36334
20171120-01:05:44 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)

Shield TV - Changing Channels (Tuner is never released when changing channels)
20171120-01:20:59 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 10.1 KSAZ-DT (8vsb:195MHz-3)
20171120-01:20:59 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.235:53884
20171120-01:21:24 Tuner: tuner1 tuning 12.1 KPNX-HD (8vsb:207MHz-1)
20171120-01:21:24 Tuner: tuner1 streaming http to 192.168.1.235:53897
20171120-01:21:32 HTTP: rejecting request from 192.168.1.235 - all tuners in use

Nexus Player & HDHR / Live Channels 1.16.003:
https://ibb.co/cdpZTR

Shield TV & HDHR / Live Channels 1.16.003:
https://ibb.co/kk1W8R

@SiliconDust Team - Can we raise this issue with NVIDIA & Google, as it looks like the HDHR Tuner Close Request is failing w/ the combination of STV using Live Channels 1.16.003. I'll post these findings in the Shield TV Forums as well, but may be faster if you have direct contacts.
nice bug report. hopefully google can actually address it since the fix should be trivial. it's impossible to get in contact with anyone over there though.

iamspartacus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:18 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby iamspartacus » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:47 am

I just noticed this issue with Live Channels after adding a second Sheild TV to my network. Before that, the single Shield TV (2015 version) wasn't giving me any issues. But now with two (one 2015 version, one 2017 version) I'll get "no internet connection" if I try to open Live Channels on one Shield TV after previously watching TV on the other one.

Sucks because I like the guide much better on Live Channels than the HDHR app.

ncontrol
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 2:42 pm

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby ncontrol » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:16 am

Sucks because I like the guide much better on Live Channels than the HDHR app.
You know that the HDHomeRun app can be used from within Live Channels? Just select "HDHomeRun Input" instead of "Network Tuner". It looks the same but properly releases the tuners.

NYPlayer
Posts: 2409
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby NYPlayer » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:49 am

Sucks because I like the guide much better on Live Channels than the HDHR app.
You know that the HDHomeRun app can be used from within Live Channels? Just select "HDHomeRun Input" instead of "Network Tuner". It looks the same but properly releases the tuners.
Can you still record if you do this ?

BTW I had to disable Live Channels as it causes all kinds of problem on the network.

viewtopic.php?f=119&t=67010#p309607

mikeb
Silicondust
Posts: 1016
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:20 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby mikeb » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:05 am

If you set up the HDHomeRun DVR then you get the ability to pause and rewind live tv from within Live Channels as well as the ability to share tuners with the DVR but Live Channels doesn't integrate with DVR recordings. (Sorry, limitations of the Live Channels interface)

iamspartacus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:18 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby iamspartacus » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:48 pm

Sucks because I like the guide much better on Live Channels than the HDHR app.
You know that the HDHomeRun app can be used from within Live Channels? Just select "HDHomeRun Input" instead of "Network Tuner". It looks the same but properly releases the tuners.
Can you still record if you do this ?

BTW I had to disable Live Channels as it causes all kinds of problem on the network.

viewtopic.php?f=119&t=67010#p309607
I don't use the HDHR DVR I use Plex/Emby. I just want to be able to watch live TV from my HDHR from both my Shield TV's without an issue. I'll have to use the HDHR app for now but browsing the channels + guide just isn't as nice/fluid.

NYPlayer
Posts: 2409
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby NYPlayer » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:14 pm


You know that the HDHomeRun app can be used from within Live Channels? Just select "HDHomeRun Input" instead of "Network Tuner". It looks the same but properly releases the tuners.
Can you still record if you do this ?

BTW I had to disable Live Channels as it causes all kinds of problem on the network.

viewtopic.php?f=119&t=67010#p309607
I don't use the HDHR DVR I use Plex/Emby. I just want to be able to watch live TV from my HDHR from both my Shield TV's without an issue. I'll have to use the HDHR app for now but browsing the channels + guide just isn't as nice/fluid.
Emby/Plex both have livetev and EMBY has a grid guide .... Live Channels is having problems right now.... like not releasing tuners and flooding the network.

iamspartacus
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:18 am

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby iamspartacus » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:49 pm



Can you still record if you do this ?

BTW I had to disable Live Channels as it causes all kinds of problem on the network.

viewtopic.php?f=119&t=67010#p309607
I don't use the HDHR DVR I use Plex/Emby. I just want to be able to watch live TV from my HDHR from both my Shield TV's without an issue. I'll have to use the HDHR app for now but browsing the channels + guide just isn't as nice/fluid.
Emby/Plex both have livetev and EMBY has a grid guide .... Live Channels is having problems right now.... like not releasing tuners and flooding the network.
I'm aware of the issue, that's why I'm here.

I realize Emby has a guide and it's nice but I've found that live streaming to either Emby/Plex can be choppy at times as a temp transcode file is created on those servers and then streamed to my player. Where as directly accessing the tuner is a direct play with no temp file needing to be created and streamed simultaneously.

senorsharkfin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:58 pm

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby senorsharkfin » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:23 pm

After weighing the options of uninstalling the 1.16.003 Live Channels update or using the HDHomeRun App as the input source, I went ahead and installed the HDHomeRun App and switched Live Channels to use this Input. Everything is now working as expected and the HDHR Tuners are properly being reserved and release as the channel is changed.

I would say if you're using Live Channels as your DVR, I would uninstall the LC 1.16.003 Update (and Disable Updates for LC), but if you're not using the DVR functionality out of LC then switching the input to the HDHomeRun App is just as easy.

Online
foxbat121
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby foxbat121 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:50 pm

Or there is a 3rd option: ask Nvidia to release Android TV 8.x update. My Nexus Player has the same issue when on Android 7.x. The problem went away after it updated to 8.0.

varunvedanth452
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:30 pm

Re: Live Channels Not Releasing Tuners

Postby varunvedanth452 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:34 pm

Or try installing Live Channels version 1.13 and disable automatic updates.

This should solve Tuner releasing issue, and recording works too.

I use HD Homerun Connect old (~$60), updated MiBox3 (~$60) to Nougat and added a 500GB SATA hdd from an old laptop using a $5 USB3.0 adaptor. Everything works fine for me.


Return to “Third Party Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests