WMC requires HDHOMERUN DVR service to record?

Help and support with third-party TV software.
Windows Media Center, EyeTV, MythTV, etc.
mac2206
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:48 pm

WMC requires HDHOMERUN DVR service to record?

Postby mac2206 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:12 pm

I have got WMC on Windows 7.1 connected to a HdHomerun Prime on the network with a CableCard.
When I try to record the TV signal from my HdHomerun Prime, I get these error messages in the log text files in the directory that my recorded TV shows should go:

20170320-00:00:10 Recorded: directory D:\DVR Recordings\ with 0 subdirs and 0 recordings
20170320-00:02:09 Status: Resource: dmk=83
20170320-00:04:09 Status: Resource: dmk=83
20170320-00:06:09 Status: Resource: dmk=83
20170320-00:06:16 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255
20170320-00:06:16 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255
20170320-00:06:16 Recording: 132540E5 lineup request success (found 229 channels)
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: discover response from 132540E5: lineup url = http://192.168.1.3:80/lineup.json
20170320-00:06:17 Recorded: recorded sync to my.hdhomerun.com
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: event download from my.hdhomerun.com
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: authorization error or not subscribed to dvr service
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: event download failed
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: disk space available = 95GB
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: current time = Mon Mar 20 00:06:17 2017 (correction of 0s)
20170320-00:06:17 Recording: no timer events planned
20170320-00:06:17 Recorded: authorization error or not subscribed to dvr service
20170320-00:06:17 Recorded: recorded sync failed

Am I to assume that I have to buy the HdHomerun DVR service to record shows with WMC? I haven't seen that aspect anywhere.


thanks.........

gtb
Expert
Posts: 2741
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: WMC requires HDHOMERUN DVR service to record?

Postby gtb » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:17 pm

Am I to assume that I have to buy the HdHomerun DVR service to record shows with WMC? I haven't seen that aspect anywhere.
Not at all, they are independent. Typically (unless you are testing side-by-side) most would not install the HDHR DVR service in a WMC system. Presuming you want to use WMC, you should uninstall the HDHR DVR service, and use WMC to configure the tuners.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 5832
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am

Re: WMC requires HDHOMERUN DVR service to record?

Postby signcarver » Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:58 pm

have you purchased access to the DVR and activated your tuners with it? that is the error you are seeing for the dvr engine (Recording: authorization error or not subscribed to dvr service) but that isn't needed for WMC.

For WMC to run (at least with a prime) it needs the HDHomeRun Service (I believe it is now called HDHomeRunWMC Service, not the HDHomeRun Record Service) That should have been installed with the setup package unless you are on windows 10 (as win 10 doesn't have wmc).


Return to “Third Party DVR Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest