HDHR-US No Channels Found

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
wutduhtek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:52 pm
Location: SW Florida

HDHR-US No Channels Found

Post by wutduhtek »

Been trying to set up a HDHR-US on a Windows 10 PC.

Tuners are shown, but a channel scan doesn't add anything.

Connecting a TV directly to my same OTA antenna finds/saves channels fine.

Device ID - 10170B67
Firmware - 20210422

If someone could look at the logs it would be appreciated.

Thanks.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2190
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 50

Re: HDHR-US No Channels Found

Post by NedS »

It's getting good signal strength, but no signal quality. There's signal there, but it's not coming in clearly enough. How is your antenna setup? Does the antenna work if connected to a normal TV set?

wutduhtek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:52 pm
Location: SW Florida

Re: HDHR-US No Channels Found

Post by wutduhtek »

NedS wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:10 pm It's getting good signal strength, but no signal quality. There's signal there, but it's not coming in clearly enough. How is your antenna setup? Does the antenna work if connected to a normal TV set?
Still trying to get this to see some channels, played with a few settings in there & still no luck.

Diagnostics still on for now.

I have (3) different in-room antenna setups that will let me scan + find + save + watch OTA channels on an older Insignia TV -

1 - an indoor type flat mouse-pad like cheapo Homeworx antenna.
2 - an indoor type amplified rabbit ear box with a 10 way internal rotor (Radio Shack 15-255).
3 - an outdoor type 2-bay bowtie Eagle Aspen DTV2BUHF-2.

I have tried all (3) setups with the HDHomerun.

Even though there are no actual channels saved when trying to run "HDHomerun setup", it seems I can open up "HD Homerun config_gui" & get a different view that lets me manually scroll thru OTA channels 1-51, even though none of them are actually viewable & I can see fluctuating signal strengths.

I went to channel 15 as it is one of the strongest OTA channels for my area & I can see some pretty significant variations in the signal strength percentage.

Leaving that open & watching it for a few minutes has the signal strength bouncing all over continuously, from say mid 40% all the way to 100%.

Even if I my antenna setups were not the best, I would have thought I''d at least be able to pickup the strongest of my OTA channels.

Can the diagnostics on your end show whether or not there's a hardware issue (like a failing power supply) or if there are network issues such as windows 10 firewall settings and/or maybe some settings in my router ?.

I'm new to this HDHomerun stuff so I am still learning.

Thanks

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15605
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 29

Re: HDHR-US No Channels Found

Post by jasonl »

Unless you know for a fact the power supply is fairly recent, it's probably the power supply. Any wall wart inevitably starts to go bad after about 5 years, and that device is about 10 years old, so it's probably due.

Post Reply