HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

I'm also experiencing the issue with my HDHR5-4K

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16737
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 89

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by nickk »

Hi AntennaMan99,

I split your post out to a new topic because the HDHR5-4K is a different platform and doesn't have the firmware bug seen in the HDHR4-2US beta firmware.

Can you please enable "send diagnostic information" in the HDHomeRun app and on the HDHR5-4K device itself, then let me know the Device ID.

Nick

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

Sorry for the delay. I have submitted the diagnostics

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16737
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 89

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by nickk »

What is the Device ID of your HDHomeRun?

Nick

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2041
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 52

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by NedS »

looks to be 108131D9

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2041
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 52

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by NedS »

AntennaMan99 wrote: Tue Apr 06, 2021 3:42 pm Sorry for the delay. I have submitted the diagnostics
Are you using a signal amplifier or amplified antenna by any chance?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16737
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 89

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by nickk »

Channel 33.2 is a little too weak to receive reliably. It is doing pretty well but there isn't much signal there. The other channels in the log look good.

Suggest turning on "send diagnostic information" in the HDHomeRun app as well (settings menu) so we can see what the player is seeing.

Nick

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

Yes. I am using a Channel Master CM 7778 pre amp.
My antenna is a EXTREMEtenna 80

I was running the pre amp on low boost, but I have turned it to high.

I am suspicious of how a RG6 Quad shield cable less than 50 feet long is requiring the amp to be set at maximum amplification.
Does high sound reasonable to you?
Last edited by AntennaMan99 on Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

Message deleted
Last edited by AntennaMan99 on Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

My device ID is 108131D9

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

I have also submitted diagnostics again from the app on the Nvidia Shield.
I turned up the amp on Sunday. I'm not sure that reflects in the original diagnostics I submitted.

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

nickk wrote: Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:45 pm Channel 33.2 is a little too weak to receive reliably. It is doing pretty well but there isn't much signal there. The other channels in the log look good.

Suggest turning on "send diagnostic information" in the HDHomeRun app as well (settings menu) so we can see what the player is seeing.

Nick
I just figured out how to reply to a post correctly. Sorry for the mess I've made.
From what I can see, the 33.2 station is around 53 miles from my home. I think I'm probable very lucky to be able to receive it at all.
I originally had a an older Clearstream 2 antenna that did not receive 33.2 , I added the preamp a few weeks ago and started receiving 33.2

The preamp worked good for a few weeks and then I lost all stations. I ordered the Extreme 80 antenna thinking that the old Clearstream had failed. Before the Extreme 80 came in, I finally determined that it appeared to be the HdHomeRun malfunctioning. When I lost all channels, I could power cycle the HomeRun and the reception was restored.
Thankfully, the total loss of reception appears to have subsided.
The Extreme 80 plus the amp, took me from 45 channels to 60 now. Granted, a number of the are duplicates, but I'm not complaining.

This whole fiasco of completely loosing reception couldn't have happened at a worse time. It happened the day before a really bad tornado out break in central Alabama. Having the Tv weather guy James Spann is a good thing to have when a tornado is bearing down on your area.
Thankfully the weather guy's station ABC 68.2 is coming in strong now.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16737
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 89

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by nickk »

Ok, I see the problem in the logs now. Reception is perfect.

Can you please download and install the latest beta firmware:
https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

Nick

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

nickk wrote: Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:52 pm Ok, I see the problem in the logs now. Reception is perfect.

Can you please download and install the latest beta firmware:
https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

Nick
Thank you. I will be able to install the software tonight around 6 PM Central

AntennaMan99
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:25 pm

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem - AntennaMan99

Post by AntennaMan99 »

nickk wrote: Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:52 pm Ok, I see the problem in the logs now. Reception is perfect.

Can you please download and install the latest beta firmware:
https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

Nick
The software has been downloaded and ran. It automatically updated the firmware.
My reception is worse now than it was before the update.
I'm not sure the updated firmware has anything to do with the reception.
What am I supposed to be looking for with the updated firmware?

Post Reply