HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Locked
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16732
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 87

HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by nickk »

We have confirmed a problem with the latest beta firmware for the HDHR4-2US model that results in a "no video data" error.

We are investigating the cause and will post an update.

Nick - Silicondust

brisycom
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:56 am
Device ID: 1230CC55
Location: UK

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by brisycom »

I am in the UK, using HDHR4-2DT and can report that the latest beta firmware is also causing the same issues on this model.

Brian

brisycom
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:56 am
Device ID: 1230CC55
Location: UK

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by brisycom »

Hi Nick,

I'm assuming that there is no way of rolling back to a previous firmware version until fixed?

Cheers
Brian

toricred6
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by toricred6 »

Any updates when the new firmware will be available?

stuspick
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:29 am
x 1

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by stuspick »

Yes, please provide an update or ETA.

virbing
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:29 pm
Device ID: HDHomeRun PRIME 131F5827; HDHomeRun CONNECT 1045DD26

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by virbing »

Are there any updates on this?

What I am seeing is that if I reboot the Connect by pulling out the power and repowering the unit, it works again for a while. Also, if the unit goes dead and I go into the setup program and try to rescan it finds no channels. However, after rebooting, I can do a scan and find channels again. Finally, if it fails and I just unplug it and repower it, the channels come back for a while.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16732
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 87

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by nickk »

Beta release is out:
https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

The Mac installer is going to take a little longer to be released.

Nick

stuspick
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:29 am
x 1

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by stuspick »

Thanks for the update. Updated the firmware, lets see if this fixes it.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2039
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 52

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by NedS »

For Mac users who know their way around the Terminal app, you can also use the command line tools to update the firmware (the normal, easier to use, installer will be coming out soon, as well):
  1. Download the firmware bin file for the HDHR4 for your country/model: https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/downloads#beta_firmware
  2. By default this should go to your "Downloads" folder. If not, move the .bin file to the "Downloads" folder so that the follow command will work
  3. Open the "Terminal.app" program
  4. Copy and paste this command and press Return/Enter:

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF upgrade ~/Downloads/hdhomerun4*.bin
  5. If you have more than one HDHomeRun device, replace the "FFFFFFFF" part of that command with your specific Device ID, which you can find on the bottom of your HDHomeRun unit and on the http://my.hdhomerun.com page
  6. If you get an error about the hdhomerun_config command not being found, run the normal Mac OS installer and then repeat these steps: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... un_mac.dmg

virbing
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:29 pm
Device ID: HDHomeRun PRIME 131F5827; HDHomeRun CONNECT 1045DD26

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by virbing »

Looking good so far. I installed 3 or 4 hours ago and I can still connect. It was crashing as soon as I tried to access it.

Glad it was a firmware fix. I was afraid my HDHR4-2US (or the PSU) may have died.

Cheers,

Ben

stuspick
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:29 am
x 1

Re: HDHR4-2US "no video data" problem with latest beta firmware

Post by stuspick »

So far so good here. No issues. Thanks again!

Locked