Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

I am using a VERO+ with HDhomerun with PVR Client Zoltan 3.5.1 and when I am not watching TV for several hours and go back the Channel guide is empty so I have to reboot every time to update it :(

What should I be using ?

djp952
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA
x 27

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by djp952 »

You are likely going to get better support for this by posting on the proper Kodi forum: https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=250

By default Kodi should be asking for new EPG data every 2 hours, what do you have Settings / PVR & Live TV / Guide / Update interval set to? I ask only because I've not heard of any issues with EPG data and that addon yet, other than it's now only capable of acquiring 4 hours of EPG data at a time which is something has changed semi-recently.

IMO, it's worth your time to anticipate a scenario where that Kodi addon can no longer access any EPG data at all unless the user has subscribed to the HDHomeRun DVR service; at some point all third-party applications will be blocked from access to the underlying API/data (messenger; please do not shoot me). Using Emby with a Schedules Direct subscription appears to be a popular alternative, but I am not able to speak from any real-world experience here -- I am an HDHomeRun DVR service subscriber and happen to be the author of the seemingly popular "unofficial" Kodi addon. I've been "all in" for quite some time on this ecosystem and have found little to no reason to think that the grass may be greener on the other side. For me, I like what I have and think it's worth the cost.

kyl416
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 30
Contact:

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by kyl416 »

You should also turn off the "prevent updates during playback" option under Settings -> PVR & Live TV -> Guide -> Updates so it will continue to update the guide in the background while you watch live TV.

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:09 pm You are likely going to get better support for this by posting on the proper Kodi forum: https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=250

By default Kodi should be asking for new EPG data every 2 hours, what do you have Settings / PVR & Live TV / Guide / Update interval set to? I ask only because I've not heard of any issues with EPG data and that addon yet, other than it's now only capable of acquiring 4 hours of EPG data at a time which is something has changed semi-recently.

IMO, it's worth your time to anticipate a scenario where that Kodi addon can no longer access any EPG data at all unless the user has subscribed to the HDHomeRun DVR service; at some point all third-party applications will be blocked from access to the underlying API/data (messenger; please do not shoot me). Using Emby with a Schedules Direct subscription appears to be a popular alternative, but I am not able to speak from any real-world experience here -- I am an HDHomeRun DVR service subscriber and happen to be the author of the seemingly popular "unofficial" Kodi addon. I've been "all in" for quite some time on this ecosystem and have found little to no reason to think that the grass may be greener on the other side. For me, I like what I have and think it's worth the cost.
Thank you for the respounce. My settings are Update interval 15 min.

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

kyl416 wrote: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:59 pm You should also turn off the "prevent updates during playback" option under Settings -> PVR & Live TV -> Guide -> Updates so it will continue to update the guide in the background while you watch live TV.
Prevent Updates during playback is already on the off position :(

djp952
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA
x 27

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by djp952 »

(mods, suggest move thread to third party software area)

Rickt1962, I looked at the addon code, and if you are willing to enable debug logging in Kodi, we can check to see if it's internally updating or not. What you want to look for are two debug-level events from the addon:

KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Found %d HDHomeRun tuners", nTunerCount);
KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Requesting HDHomeRun guide: %s", strUrl.c_str());

You should expect to see these once an hour. If they are not occurring then something is wrong with the addon. If they are occurring then Kodi may not be asking for the new data. I'm happy to investigate for you once armed with this information, it defines where I would need to start looking :)

edit: VERO+, is it safe to assume this is OSMC and you are using the current Kodi 18.9 (Leia) software? Not running any betas?

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 12:18 pm (mods, suggest move thread to third party software area)

Rickt1962, I looked at the addon code, and if you are willing to enable debug logging in Kodi, we can check to see if it's internally updating or not. What you want to look for are two debug-level events from the addon:

KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Found %d HDHomeRun tuners", nTunerCount);
KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Requesting HDHomeRun guide: %s", strUrl.c_str());

You should expect to see these once an hour. If they are not occurring then something is wrong with the addon. If they are occurring then Kodi may not be asking for the new data. I'm happy to investigate for you once armed with this information, it defines where I would need to start looking :)

edit: VERO+, is it safe to assume this is OSMC and you are using the current Kodi 18.9 (Leia) software? Not running any betas?
Yes VERO+ is OSMC own hardware for KODI with 18.9
I am running KODI logging for PVR and EPG and also Zoltan 3.5.1 with debug mode on.
Will keep you posted :) Thank you

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 12:18 pm (mods, suggest move thread to third party software area)

Rickt1962, I looked at the addon code, and if you are willing to enable debug logging in Kodi, we can check to see if it's internally updating or not. What you want to look for are two debug-level events from the addon:

KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Found %d HDHomeRun tuners", nTunerCount);
KODI_LOG(ADDON_LOG_DEBUG, "Requesting HDHomeRun guide: %s", strUrl.c_str());

You should expect to see these once an hour. If they are not occurring then something is wrong with the addon. If they are occurring then Kodi may not be asking for the new data. I'm happy to investigate for you once armed with this information, it defines where I would need to start looking :)

edit: VERO+, is it safe to assume this is OSMC and you are using the current Kodi 18.9 (Leia) software? Not running any betas?
Hope this helps I notice the guide is blank the next hour https://paste.osmc.tv/usozuxuvax
https://paste.osmc.tv/mayuwuzude

djp952
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA
x 27

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by djp952 »

It sure does. The problem is that the addon is only using the correct DeviceAuth code(s) for your tuners at startup, then it's using different (and invalid) ones for all subsequent attempts. That'll do it.

Let me poke around their code after the kid goes to bed, I need to also see if OSMC is compiling their own from source (that would be a good thing since we probably won't be able to get the addon changed for mainline Leia at this point)

So, you're definitely not crazy. The addon is being problematic on you.

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 5:37 pm It sure does. The problem is that the addon is only using the correct DeviceAuth code(s) for your tuners at startup, then it's using different (and invalid) ones for all subsequent attempts. That'll do it.

Let me poke around their code after the kid goes to bed, I need to also see if OSMC is compiling their own from source (that would be a good thing since we probably won't be able to get the addon changed for mainline Leia at this point)

So, you're definitely not crazy. The addon is being problematic on you.
Wonder why know one else found this.. THANK YOU for your validation ! Like you said, I wouldn't bother fixing it for 18 but 19 is out now.
To bad Silicondust dropped all support for KODI :( viewtopic.php?f=88&t=74480

djp952
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA
x 27

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by djp952 »

Well ... I ran a test overnight and did not encounter the same concern here. I had it running on OSMC (VERO 4K+) with the v3.5.1 addon and on Windows with the mainline Leia v3.5.0 addon and they both performed well, there were no issues with retrieving the guide data every hour, and the DeviceAuth codes rotated properly.

What tuner devices are you using? I have 2 HDHomeRun PRIME devices here. I'm wondering if the addon may need to use a newer version of libhdhomerun or something like that.

I still think this is the problem, to my knowledge there aren't any HDHR devices that change their DeviceAuth code every single hour of the day and your logs indicate a failure accessing the guide data other than the first time, but I haven't been able to duplicate the concern.

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Thu Mar 25, 2021 6:46 am Well ... I ran a test overnight and did not encounter the same concern here. I had it running on OSMC (VERO 4K+) with the v3.5.1 addon and on Windows with the mainline Leia v3.5.0 addon and they both performed well, there were no issues with retrieving the guide data every hour, and the DeviceAuth codes rotated properly.

What tuner devices are you using? I have 2 HDHomeRun PRIME devices here. I'm wondering if the addon may need to use a newer version of libhdhomerun or something like that.

I still think this is the problem, to my knowledge there aren't any HDHR devices that change their DeviceAuth code every single hour of the day and your logs indicate a failure accessing the guide data other than the first time, but I haven't been able to duplicate the concern.
I am using 2 HDHR3-CC HDHomeRuns with Comcast

djp952
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA
x 27

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by djp952 »

Looking through the logs again, I noted that your device is also having problems communicating with the HDHomeRun devices after startup:

Code: Select all

2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: AddOnLog: PVR HDHomeRun Client: Requesting HDHomeRun lineup: http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: CFileCache::Open - opening <lineup.json> using cache
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: CurlFile::Open(0xd80cae58) http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328    INFO: easy_acquire - Created session to http://X.X.X.X
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   ERROR: Open - Unhandled exception
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   ERROR: Open - Error opening http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   DEBUG: AddOnLog: PVR HDHomeRun Client: GetFileContents: http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json failed
The lineup queries succeed again at some point, but there seems to be something more systemic going on that's just manifesting as a problem with the EPG. I can't explain why the DeviceAuth codes keep changing, have you looked at the tuner device logs to see if it's having any problems communicating with SiliconDust? Perhaps if it loses/regains connectivity it changes the DeviceAuth code?

I'm starting to change my answer to "network issue"; the device discovery is done over UDP (broadcast), but the HTTP queries it's executing are failing. I was surprised to see the same failures to your local devices.

Head scratcher, but I haven't given up. Will play more after work :)

Rickt1962
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by Rickt1962 »

djp952 wrote: Thu Mar 25, 2021 9:29 am Looking through the logs again, I noted that your device is also having problems communicating with the HDHomeRun devices after startup:

Code: Select all

2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: AddOnLog: PVR HDHomeRun Client: Requesting HDHomeRun lineup: http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: CFileCache::Open - opening <lineup.json> using cache
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328   DEBUG: CurlFile::Open(0xd80cae58) http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.331 T:3529007328    INFO: easy_acquire - Created session to http://X.X.X.X
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   ERROR: Open - Unhandled exception
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   ERROR: Open - Error opening http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json
2021-03-24 16:55:09.352 T:3529007328   DEBUG: AddOnLog: PVR HDHomeRun Client: GetFileContents: http://X.X.X.X:80/lineup.json failed
The lineup queries succeed again at some point, but there seems to be something more systemic going on that's just manifesting as a problem with the EPG. I can't explain why the DeviceAuth codes keep changing, have you looked at the tuner device logs to see if it's having any problems communicating with SiliconDust? Perhaps if it loses/regains connectivity it changes the DeviceAuth code?

I'm starting to change my answer to "network issue"; the device discovery is done over UDP (broadcast), but the HTTP queries it's executing are failing. I was surprised to see the same failures to your local devices.
Head scratcher, but I haven't given up. Will play more after work :)
Well I just opened up HDHomerun setup on my Windows 7 PC which had Firmware 20201028 on the 2 boxes I have. And the auto pop up showed a new version ready for download so now its at 20210303beta1.
I didnt see any place for Debug log in there

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9662
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 30

Re: Using PVR 3.5.1 problems

Post by signcarver »

The device logs he was referring to are on the device... System Status (or System Menu), System Log.

Typically DeviceAuth will change after any reboot and every 8 hours... though I never tried it, it may also change after any change in ip address as it would need to contact SD so the change can be seen in my.hdhomerun.com and my suspicions of some of those errors in my mind implies that the ip address changed (or at least couldn't be reached).

Are you turning anything on your network off and/or do you have a very low dhcp lease time set?

Post Reply