HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
DBinNYC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:02 am

HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by DBinNYC »

Recently my HDHomerun Extend (HDTC-2US, Firmware 20210210) is not found using the HD app on Windows, Mac or iOS.

However, it is discovered and accessible using VLC.

I've rebooted, and updated firmware. I can also browse direct into the tuner. When checking the logs, its reporting a DNS issue:

19700101-00:00:18 System: reset reason = firmware upgrade
19700101-00:00:18 System: network link 100f
19700101-00:00:19 System: ip address obtained: 10.0.1.25 / 255.255.255.0
19700101-00:00:42 System: myhdhomerun_sync: webclient error (dns failed)

Also, why are those log dates reporting 19700101 as the date? The internet didnt exist back then

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9709
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 22

Re: HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by signcarver »

time is obtained via the web (cablecard models can get it through the "card" from their provider) and with the dns failed error it seems like your device doesn't have connection to the internet. As for the date/time itself that is the normal epoch time of 0 for most computing devices.

Many times I have seen a router needing to be rebooted after a device boot, though usually a firmware update for the router fixes that. In some cases a different ip address was handed out after a reboot of the device (restart of hdhomerun from firmware update) and firewall rules would need to be updated. If the device is directly connected to computer sometimes it needs to be restarted as well.

DBinNYC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:02 am

Re: HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by DBinNYC »

What are the firewall requirements? This has been working for years and only just started failing.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9709
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 22

Re: HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by signcarver »

For starters the device will need access to whatever dns is presented to it via dhcp. It will also need access to *.hdhomerun.com.

Anything special in the way you connected the device to your network (typically wired to router/switch) ? Separate firewall/dhcp than router? What type of firewall/how was it configured (ip, mac...)? Is there a dhcp reservation? Did that fail to renew?

Typically I have seen thus issue with a Verizon issued router for fios after a dhcp renewal and rebooting that router and the hdhomerun "temporarily" fixes it and it usually has nothing to do with firewall unless you block the device from internet access.

lwoody7110
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 12, 2021 10:34 am

Re: HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by lwoody7110 »

Just to add to the story, I've had the same error in my log today.

Note the amount of time needed to get an IP address from my DHCP server. The webclient error (dns failed) occurs before the device gets an IP address.

Hardware Model HDHR4-2DT
Firmware Version 20210210

19700101-00:00:02 System: reset reason = power on
19700101-00:00:09 System: network link 100f
19700101-00:00:52 System: myhdhomerun_sync: webclient error (dns failed)
19700101-00:07:10 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.18.70 / 255.255.255.0
20210512-17:14:38 System: time changed from Thu Jan 1 00:07:27 1970 to Wed May 12 17:14:38 2021

brockoli_cheese
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2021 5:11 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Extend - myhdhomerun_sunc FAIL

Post by brockoli_cheese »

signcarver wrote: Mon Mar 08, 2021 6:14 pm For starters the device will need access to whatever dns is presented to it via dhcp. It will also need access to *.hdhomerun.com.

Anything special in the way you connected the device to your network (typically wired to router/switch) ? Separate firewall/dhcp than router? What type of firewall/how was it configured (ip, mac...)? Is there a dhcp reservation? Did that fail to renew?

Typically I have seen thus issue with a Verizon issued router for fios after a dhcp renewal and rebooting that router and the hdhomerun "temporarily" fixes it and it usually has nothing to do with firewall unless you block the device from internet access.
I seem to be having the same error, also. I am able to use the HDHomeRun Quattro through Plex, but I am unable to access it direct using apps or programs. When connecting through the MAC APP, there was a firmware update issued to the Quattro. Following this forum to see if any progress is made or can offer any help.

Post Reply