HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

I have a HDhomerun Connect Duo UK version. About two days ago it stopped streaming live TV. The device still connecting to my network and has an IP address, and shows up in Channels app however, when I launch a channel it times out and says no tuner. Also if I directly connect to the IP address via a web page no GUI loads... When issue first occurred If I looked at the list of devices it showed up as blank device with no vendor info on DHCP, and wouldn't assign an IP address.. But now it's showing as Silicon Dust again... and the green ethernet light is on the back of the device. It's only two years old so slightly loathe to assume it's just died, but this maybe the case.

Can anyone advise? Assume there is no way to reinstall the software or rebuild it. Or anything I can do.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by nickk »

I can check a few things - what is the Device ID?

Nick

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

12400A0A

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

Thanks for checking Nick. Let me know.

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

Any update on what I can do ?

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

nickk wrote: Fri Dec 11, 2020 9:08 pm I can check a few things - what is the Device ID?

Nick
Please provide an update ?

Pretty rubbish support. Also tech support same issue, not helped me in a week.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1815
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 93

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by NedS »

EDIT: scratch that, I see you already have a support ticket.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1815
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 93

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by NedS »

I will be sending you RMA instructions right now via your support ticket.

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

@NedS

I've sent the replacement back on 18th dec. However I've had no response from your support teams, and no replacement item sent to me.
Despite multiple missives... Nothing was ever 'cross shipped' .. Not even a cursory email.

Device was received and signed by your warehouse on the 21st of Dec.. Really atrocious support service.


https://www3.royalmail.com/track-your-item#/
WM049321456GB

On 28 Dec 2020, at 12:40, wrote:

This is really unacceptable…..

My HD Homerun was sent on 18th of dec. But no response or correspondence.

I’d appreciate an acknowledgement, or I will now be compelled to file a complaint. As you’ve taken my device and not replaced it, as agreed.






On 22 Dec 2020, at 12:36, wrote:

Where is the replacement promised ?

It’s not acceptable to ignore emails. I am without the HD Homerun I bought and any replacement.
Communication could be a lot better.




On 21 Dec 2020, at 09:02, wrote:

Please confirm. I’ve sent in device a week ago and no word from you.

-Kris
Sent from my iPhone

On 18 Dec 2020, at 16:16, Kristian Lambert <kristian.lambert@icloud.com> wrote:

Can you confirm you’ve sent out replacement HD home run?

-Kris
Sent from my iPhone

On 17 Dec 2020, at 13:23, wrote:


Hi,

That’s very decent of you. I've posted the defunct one back

It’s shipped via Royal Mail.

The reference number is

Ref removed*

https://www3.royalmail.com/track-your-item#/

Please can you send me the replacement, ideally as soon as possible due to Christmas coming up would be good to have it working..
Please can you let me know once shipped.

Address is:

XXXX

Kind regards,





On 17 Dec 2020, at 00:36, HDHomeRun Support <support@silicondust.com> wrote:

Dear,

The symptoms suggest a hardware issue with your HDHomeRun. We will replace it.
Please return the unit to our EU/UK distributor at:

Elogistiks @ GFM
Sparrow Way
Canterbury
CT3 4JH
England

Please mark the shipping box with your RMA number,

Once it has shipped, please reply back with the carrier, tracking number, and your preferred shipping address. We will cross ship you a new unit.

Thank you!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1815
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 93

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by NedS »

Escalating the case now.

kris_delta
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:24 am

Re: HD Home run Duo UK Connects to ethernet but no GUI

Post by kris_delta »

Thanks replacement arrived today. Thank you for sorting.
Regards, Kris

Post Reply