Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
elabra
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:32 pm
Device ID: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474, 108449D
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA

Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Post by elabra »

I am running 2 record engines (WD PR2100 and on a Win 10 PC) and noticed that I have 2 recordings of Sheldon going on at the same time - using 2 different tuners. Why is this happening? Both recording engines are on systems in the same network. I have turned on diagnostics on my app. I have plenty of tuners but not sure why the record engines are communicating with each other and knowing it is being recorded by the other. Thanks

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8h9f3askcprka ... 1.JPG?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/y9qzr6dn2h7f1 ... 2.JPG?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/d1tlbh1tsc03r ... 3.JPG?dl=0


Thanks

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9322
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 24

Re: Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Post by signcarver »

Best to check the logs of each engine. Do both engines show up at my.hdhomerun.com? Is your windows 10 machine always on? Are they both the most recent version of the engine?

Have you you verified that both engines indeed recorded such and one wasn't live? What client was being used to check and does that machine have 2 nic's (includes wifi and in some cases bluetooth and virtual adapters)

To work you must be on one of the later versions of the record engine (and I believe there was a recent fix for one platform). It wouldn't surprise me if they require a StorageID which is also required to be seen at my.hdhomerun.com. In some cases I have seen an old zombie engine someplace that would also end up recording. The engines have to discover your other engines to communicate with them and that discovery occurs about once an hour (or two). In some cases live may prefer another engine but that shouldn't be listed in your recordings but on some platforms the same recording may be listed twice when there are multiple paths to find it (this is particularly a problem on a shield that is both client and engine as it discovers it's own engine twice... in theory the StorageID should prevent that but for some reason it doesn't).

elabra
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:32 pm
Device ID: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474, 108449D
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA

Re: Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Post by elabra »

Thanks Signcarver.... see my responses below.....
signcarver wrote: Fri Nov 06, 2020 7:35 am Best to check the logs of each engine. Do both engines show up at my.hdhomerun.com?
***Yes

Is your windows 10 machine always on?
***Yes

Are they both the most recent version of the engine?
***Yes

Have you you verified that both engines indeed recorded such and one wasn't live?
***Yes, both are recoding scheduled tasks OK.

What client was being used to check and does that machine have 2 nic's (includes wifi and in some cases bluetooth and virtual adapters)
*** Client was another Win 10 machine running HDHomerun app

All the apps (Client, record engine and tuners) are all at the latest verisons

To work you must be on one of the later versions of the record engine (and I believe there was a recent fix for one platform). It wouldn't surprise me if they require a StorageID which is also required to be seen at my.hdhomerun.com. In some cases I have seen an old zombie engine someplace that would also end up recording. The engines have to discover your other engines to communicate with them and that discovery occurs about once an hour (or two). In some cases live may prefer another engine but that shouldn't be listed in your recordings but on some platforms the same recording may be listed twice when there are multiple paths to find it (this is particularly a problem on a shield that is both client and engine as it discovers it's own engine twice... in theory the StorageID should prevent that but for some reason it doesn't).
***I have not checked the StoreID's for the engines - what is the best way to do that?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16234
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 75

Re: Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Post by nickk »

The record engine at local IP x.x.x.91 has a StorageID.
If you have a second record engine it either is running a very old version or doesn't have a StorageID.

Nick

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9322
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 24

Re: Running 2 record engines and getting 2 recordings

Post by signcarver »

Surprised, as OP stated both did show up at my.hdhomerun.com and unless something had changed, it shouldn't show up there if there is no StorageID.

Are any of your devices only seen by one of your engines (usually the windows machine, as some may directly attach and on a 2nd nic) and it may have been that was "the" device nickk happened to check (not sure if he checked all the devices in pic though probably the one you did point to which may make this question moot)

FYI, you have a previous post mentioning 2 win 10 engines with one not having a StorageID

Post Reply