Wrong RF channel among two choices for one virtual channel

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
skytoastar
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2020 7:53 am

Wrong RF channel among two choices for one virtual channel

Post by skytoastar »

KGO in the bay area is broadcast on RF channels 12 and 35. Both map to virtual channel 7.1. My HDHomeRun Connect Duo chooses RF 35, even though the signal is better for RF channel 12. How can I get it to choose 12 instead of 35?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9322
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 24

Re: Wrong RF channel among two choices for one virtual channel

Post by signcarver »

Use software that doesn't depend on the scan or do something to block the undesired signal (and hopefully not affect anything else).

However unless there is a resolution difference (as it prefers the signal with the higher resolution), the scan should add the signal with the better signal quality so perhaps a new scan is in order and it may depend on time of day/weather but there are background scans and I believe they can change your result. Also be careful not to overload signal as those sometimes mess up scan results as often an overloaded signal swings quality wildly and it may be the scan sees that temporary higher result.

skytoastar
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2020 7:53 am

Re: Wrong RF channel among two choices for one virtual channel

Post by skytoastar »

Turns out I was overdriving it with a signal booster. I took that out and now things are much better.

Post Reply