[Solved] Freezes since 20200521 firmware update

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Online
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Freezes since 20200521 firmware update

Post by nickk »

RickNY wrote: Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:50 pm I’m no technical expert, but it looks like 0x86 stream type is reserved for ATSC:
caption service descriptor
0x86
0x86 is the descriptor tag for closed captioning, not the stream type.

US style captioning is embedded in the video rather than a separate stream.

RickNY
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2020 6:18 am

Re: Freezes since 20200521 firmware update

Post by RickNY »

So, just to follow up - my TiVo Stream 4K got the firmware update that fixed MPEG decoding, and now everything seems great. Watching TV on the HDHR via Android Live Channels is working out just fine for us. Thanks!

Online
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Freezes since 20200521 firmware update

Post by nickk »

More detailed write up of the problem and the workaround the HDHomeRun implements:
https://download.silicondust.com/suppor ... glitch.pdf

RickNY
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2020 6:18 am

Re: [Solved] Freezes since 20200521 firmware update

Post by RickNY »

Hi Nick. Thank you for posting this information. I have forwarded your letter on to the executive office representative for Altice that is handling my FCC complaint on this issue.

I did hear back from him this morning.. A couple of things -- first, Altice has classified this now as a "outage", and assigned it an outage number. They classified it as an outage on 9/22. That means it has also been forwarded to their engineering group.

The second thing I wanted to note.. Over the weekend, I did pick up 2 of their Samsung boxes for our most-watched televisions in the house. I will say -- this issue does seem to impact those boxes as well, BUT - they recover much faster from it. You will get a very brief moment of pixelation, and its usually only visible in small sections of the overall screen. If you're not looking for it, you'll likely not even notice it happening. This seems to match up with what other Optimum users had reported that were using Cisco/SA CableCards - that they either did not have the issue, or their posted examples of it were so slight that it wasn't disruptive. Their Samsung boxes are using tru2way, and do not have CableCards installed.

It does seem that the NDS cards choke on this more severely.

Post Reply