1080P on Comcast?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
phelme
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:18 am

1080P on Comcast?

Post by phelme »

So I was rather surprised that when I checked the Weather Channel today (776 in San Francisco) via HDHomeRun setup and VLC, it is reporting as a 1080P station. Didn't know Comcast had any 1080P material. I assume this is accurate or am I misreading a 1080i broadcast? Thanks!

Image

djp952
Posts: 1224
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD USA

Re: 1080P on Comcast?

Post by djp952 »

The frame rate is the giveaway. If it were 1080p, the frame rate would be 59.94Hz. Sorry about this, but it's 1080i :(

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15274
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 1080P on Comcast?

Post by jasonl »

All Comcast areas carry national channels in H.264, because those channels get downlinked and transcoded at CMC in Denver then fed to the entire country via Comcast's fiber network. Local channels and other channels that have local/region-specific content are generally still received and processed locally. Weather Channel falls into this category because cable providers can get a box from them that replaces national content with more detailed regional content like Local on the 8's and that ticker at the bottom showing weather for local places that really isn't relevant to anyone who isn't there. Some regions have the equipment to carry everything in 720p H.264, but others are still doing those in MPEG2 in the original resolution of the broadcast. If you poke around with HDHomeRun Config GUI you might find that QAM channel is shared with other local or regional channels like regional sports networks or others that might have sports blackouts like ESPN or TBS.

phelme
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:18 am

Re: 1080P on Comcast?

Post by phelme »

djp952 wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 4:44 pm
The frame rate is the giveaway. If it were 1080p, the frame rate would be 59.94Hz. Sorry about this, but it's 1080i :(
Dang it, I knew I missed something. :D

Thanks!

Post Reply