signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
Sion
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Post by Sion »

Hello!
Is there a way in any of the HDHR software to display signal strength for a particular channel at a time (real time), or capture the strength of each channel during a scan for comparison, or something like that?

I'm having trouble pulling in NBC in my area, which is transmitting from a different location than the rest of my major networks, so I need to find a good compromise direction to aim the antenna.

Thanks!

tonywagner
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:25 am

Re: signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Post by tonywagner »

hdhomerun_config_gui utility on Windows.

Also, the hdhomerun_config command line utility on any system:
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/hdhomerun_config

Finally, unofficial apps -- Signal GH for iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/signal-gh/id289580769

Or HDHomerun Signal Meter for Android: https://apkpure.com/hdhomerun-signal-meter/com.zaren

Sion
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Post by Sion »

tonywagner wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:35 am
hdhomerun_config_gui utility on Windows.
I don't know what this is. I have the hdhomerun setup utility. Is that the same thing? I don't see where/how to display signal strength within that app.
Also, the hdhomerun_config command line utility on any system:
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/hdhomerun_config

Finally, unofficial apps -- Signal GH for iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/signal-gh/id289580769

Or HDHomerun Signal Meter for Android: https://apkpure.com/hdhomerun-signal-meter/com.zaren
I'll check out the android app too, thanks.

tonywagner
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:25 am

Re: signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Post by tonywagner »

Sion wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 4:50 pm
tonywagner wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:35 am
hdhomerun_config_gui utility on Windows.
I don't know what this is. I have the hdhomerun setup utility. Is that the same thing? I don't see where/how to display signal strength within that app.
hdhomerun_config_gui.exe is installed with the HDHomerun software on Windows, but it doesn't show up in the Start menu.

Go Start, Run, and enter "c:\Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun\hdhomerun_config_gui.exe"

Or browse to that folder with Windows Explorer.

Sion
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: signal strength for antenna aiming/tuning?

Post by Sion »

tonywagner wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 4:56 pm
Sion wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 4:50 pm
tonywagner wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:35 am
hdhomerun_config_gui utility on Windows.
I don't know what this is. I have the hdhomerun setup utility. Is that the same thing? I don't see where/how to display signal strength within that app.
hdhomerun_config_gui.exe is installed with the HDHomerun software on Windows, but it doesn't show up in the Start menu.

Go Start, Run, and enter "c:\Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun\hdhomerun_config_gui.exe"

Or browse to that folder with Windows Explorer.
Great, thanks.

Post Reply