Most Channels Don't Load on Roku (HDHR3-CC)

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
mikeregister
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:00 pm

Most Channels Don't Load on Roku (HDHR3-CC)

Post by mikeregister »

Having an issue on my Roku TV where when I click on a channel it goes straight back to the guide without loading. I am using a HDHR3-CC.

I am able to get a few channels to play, but most won't.

This is with all tuners available. System log shows:

Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)

Device ID: 131CD019

Online
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8845
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Most Channels Don't Load on Roku (HDHR3-CC)

Post by signcarver »

That is "expected" behavior for most cable systems.

By the way i strongly disagree with the wording at info.hdhomerun.com as it implies works with most other than comcast and drm and that SD is working on supporting the prime but though a few channels may work it is very rare i see it work with most channels from a provider and it has been repeatedly stated there is nothing SD can do when the roku player rejects such streams as SD does not control the player, it just provides a link.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Most Channels Don't Load on Roku (HDHR3-CC)

Post by NedS »

It's one of those things were we have to be diplomatic with how we describe Roku. I will try to change it so that it's much clearer that Roku should not be expected to work with cable TV signals (unless Roku wants to ever fix their video player).

mikeregister
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:00 pm

Re: Most Channels Don't Load on Roku (HDHR3-CC)

Post by mikeregister »

Thanks guys. Must have missed the wording about Rokus, I usually use another device. It doesn't surprise me that their video player is the culprit though.

Post Reply