HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
ctem81
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:38 am

HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by ctem81 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:00 pm

Just had my cable card installed today. The prime is showing success for all 3 as shown below. I run a channel scan and it comes up with no channels available. When the scan is running I clicked on the individual tuners and it shows the channels and that they are subscribed and it keeps going through all the channels, but none ever show up in the list of channels available.

Any ideas what I am missing here?

Thanks


Card Authentication success
Card OOB Lock success
Card Validation success


Tuner 0 Status
Virtual Channel 4 WNBC
Frequency 225.000 MHz
Program Number 2
Authorization subscribed
CCI Protection none
Modulation Lock qam256
PCR Lock locked
Signal Strength 100% (8.6 dBmV)
Signal Quality 100% (38.6 dB)
Symbol Quality 100%
Streaming Rate none
Resource Lock none

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by signcarver » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:42 pm

What provider? What brand cablecard? Do you use/need a tuning adapter?

Typically such issue is when the keys are wrong so it can't properly tune a channel. Occasionally i also see bad channel tables cause such issues.

With cisco cards make sure to check the status on the CA page.

jasonl
Posts: 15171
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by jasonl » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:54 pm

Please enable the sending of diagnostic data on the HDHomeRun, reboot it, and run a channel scan (https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics) then reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs.

ctem81
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:38 am

Re: HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by ctem81 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:59 pm

CA Page shows detail below, status=not staged. Is that bad?

Cisco CableCARD(tm)
Conditional Access Details

System Id: 0x0E00
Status: Not Staged
Internal Secure Micro Serial No:
02:06:00:98:47:56
Secure Micro Software Ver:
5.03
CA Time:
Waiting For Update...
Time GBAM: 0
App GBAM: 0
Purchase GBAM: 0
EMMs Processed: 0
More CA Details

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by signcarver » Mon Feb 24, 2020 4:06 pm

Thats your issue.. should say ready. The terminology is different depending on provider as to what hit to send but basically your provider must do the same hit as when one of their boxes has been unplugged for 30 days.

If your provider has direct support (not indirect support) through dslreports.com i suggest working through there.

ctem81
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:38 am

Re: HDHR Prime with cablecard, channel scan comes up with nothing

Post by ctem81 » Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:06 pm

Working now. They had to re-send whatever commands and the card finally came online. Thanks for the help.

Post Reply