HDHR4-2DT Where are my HD channels?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
Dan77
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:17 pm
Device ID: 123092D2
Location: UK

HDHR4-2DT Where are my HD channels?

Post by Dan77 » Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:04 pm

Anyone got any good ideas on how to get HD channels? It's detected 131 channels but not a single HD channel. Below is what I expected to get as these are available on my Samsung TV. According to the diagnostics on my TV I have a decent signal strength (96/100) I asusme that's good?

Freeview HD Channels
101 BBC One HD PSB3
102 BBC Two HD PSB3
103 ITV1 HD / STV HD PSB3
104 Channel 4 HD PSB3
105 BBC Three HD PSB3
106 BBC Four HD COM7
107 BBC News HD COM7
108 Al Jazeera English HD COM7
109 Channel 4 +1 HD COM7
110 4seven HD COM7
111 QVC +1 HD COM8
112 QVC Beauty HD COM8
113 Russia Today UK HD COM7

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8726
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR4-2DT Where are my HD channels?

Post by signcarver » Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:20 pm

There are a number of things that can cause your issue... first is too much signal as i wasn't sure if that figure came from the hdhr or the tv though i doubt that is the issue when reporting 96%

Next is the issue that will be that the device (scan) will only allow one of any virtual channel number... what gets added when there are conflicts is the one with the highest resolution, and then by signal quality. If that is the issue 3rd party software that allows adding channels based on physical rather than virtual channel number must be used. (channel gets added by physical but depending on software may look to be using virtual.

Also in the uk, many find they need a filter (braid breaker).

I suggest turning on sending of diagnostic data, running a channel scan and reply with your deviceID so the folks at sd can take a look.

jasonl
Posts: 15171
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR4-2DT Where are my HD channels?

Post by jasonl » Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:20 pm

You have a fairly poor signal on the BBC B (HD) mux so that is coming and going from one scan to the next. The COM7 and COM8 muxes on your transmitter are only sent at about 40% of the power of the main 6 muxes so they are quite weak and aren't able to lock at all. What kind of aerial are you using and what is the cable/amplifier/splitter layout?

Post Reply