Does the HDHR Dual hardware require internet access

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
bewright
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:08 am

Does the HDHR Dual hardware require internet access

Post by bewright » Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:31 am

Once the hardware setup is completed, does the hardware require internet access to function?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Does the HDHR Dual hardware require internet access

Post by signcarver » Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:56 am

Assuming by "dual" you mean a legacy product, with SD's software (or anything requiring it to maintain DeviceAuth to retrieve the lineup from SD since legacy devices don't maintain their own lineup) it will need internet access.

Modern tuners maintain their own lineup thus "usually" don't require any internet access unless you need a guide from SD or using SD's DVR, however the current software itself from SD does require internet access to function.

Other software may not require any internet access for either the client or the tuners.

rpcameron
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Does the HDHR Dual hardware require internet access

Post by rpcameron » Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:16 pm

bewright wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:31 am
Once the hardware setup is completed, does the hardware require internet access to function?
Also of note, presently SD's software requires internet access to function.

If operation offline is a concern, you'd best use different software. Also, most other other software can tune using frequency/PID, and does not need the lineup that the older hardware would need internet access to provide.

bewright
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Does the HDHR Dual hardware require internet access

Post by bewright » Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:56 am

Thanks very much for your responses.

Post Reply