HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
StealthWJ
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:48 pm

HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by StealthWJ » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:58 pm

I've been using my HDHR3-US at home for years now, but have a long term job out of state and I brought it with me. I am in an RV park that has a good cable package, but my tuner will not lock on any of the channels. If someone could help me understand why? Is this a lost cause? I can do a quick scan on both of the TV's in my rig and they both come up with all 50 channels no problem, with beautiful picture. I can take the same cable from the back of the TV and put it on the HDHR3 and nothing, not a single channel.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by signcarver » Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:48 pm

Most likely they are analog and/or you didn't set unit for digital cable. The tuner won't work with analog channels.

StealthWJ
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:48 pm

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by StealthWJ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:51 am

Analog, like NTSC? I don't think so, they are full 1080 with channel info. I've tried scans in both antenna and cable mode. If this is really full analog, is there a unit other than the HDHR3 that could pull it in?

jasonl
Posts: 15171
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by jasonl » Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:25 pm

There are some newer Dish Network systems that modulate channels in a way that the HDHR3-US can't lock on. If there's a TV guide channel and it has the Dish logo on it, that's likely the issue. Newer HDHomeRun models don't have problems with it.

StealthWJ
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:48 pm

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by StealthWJ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:12 pm

Ok, no guide channel. Will the newer models do analog also if it isn't that?

jasonl
Posts: 15171
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by jasonl » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:37 pm

No HDHomeRun model supports analog TV. If the video is in HD it's not analog though. Odds are it is coming from one of the satellite providers though as they have standard solutions to take the satellite broadcasts and convert them to clear QAM for use in hotels, RV parks, dorms, and other environments like that.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by signcarver » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:47 pm

No HDHR will tune analog channels

Typically what i have seen in such parks is 50-60 channels of analog then a dish to qam system that allows a dish network receiver to be connected (encrypted non-standard stream where each transponder is put on its own qam channel). However back when I actually installed such systems in rv parks/motels, HD wasn't that popular yet and some have since started putting locals on as atsc (rather than clear qam) but typically such greatly reduces the number of channels offered "free"

The last few parks I was in were 16x9 letterboxed analog for much content that the tv did a pretty good job zooming in on but I wouldn't consider it a clear picture. A few years ago i would have said if any channels that were whole numbers (in US, not using cablecard or some stb) it was analog but these days some would set virtual channel numbers as whole numbers.

aaronouthier
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:21 pm

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by aaronouthier » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:21 pm

This may be a silly question, but are you trying to use the same CableCard from Home in your trailer park? If so, then that’s probably your issue.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHR3-US in RV Park - No Channels?

Post by signcarver » Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:10 am

An hdhr3-us (an old dual) wouldnt have a cablecard as a prime is -cc not -us

Post Reply