Media Centre too sensitive

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
tokyojoe
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:08 pm

Media Centre too sensitive

Post by tokyojoe » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:46 pm

I am having an issue getting reception for some channels on a windows 7 computer running Media Centre. Here is my problem. I currently have a single HDHomerun unit connected to a single antenna. I recently purchased a XRS 4000 android box and set it up. I have media centre working great with EPG123 and am subscribed to the DVR service. I have configured the HDHomerun app on the XRS 4000, and can watch TV. I don't know why there are channels I cannot see on my Media centre, that I can see quite well on my Android box. I seem to remember reading somewhere that the sensitivity of a channel when Media centre says "No Signal" can be adjusted. would someone please help me out. Thanks.

3ton
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:34 pm

Re: Media Centre too sensitive

Post by 3ton » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:52 pm

If your using EPG123 make sure to add the vhf channels after setup of wmc. Go to guide in setup and add the channels.

tokyojoe
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:08 pm

Re: Media Centre too sensitive

Post by tokyojoe » Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:07 pm

I have all the channels added in Media centre, last night I was watching the missing channels on the machine, today it is telling me that the signal strenght is too low. One room over same network segment, Android box is working great. Both TV's are seeing the only VHF channel I have in my area fine BTW

3ton
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:34 pm

Re: Media Centre too sensitive

Post by 3ton » Sun Feb 02, 2020 8:02 am

You might want to add the device id of the tuner to this post and see if Silicondust can look at the tuner and see if you have any tuner problems. Also really look at the network.

tokyojoe
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:08 pm

Re: Media Centre too sensitive

Post by tokyojoe » Sun Feb 02, 2020 10:08 am

My network is a little complicated, my TV is on its own segment and is on a Vlan and have QOS configured. Today without doing anything, both TV's are showing all channels. It is a signal strength issue. There is a way to configure Media Centre not to display the weak, or no signal message and just show the channel, that is what I am looking for

Cheers,

markfromBrooklyn
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:36 am

Re: Media Centre too sensitive

Post by markfromBrooklyn » Sun Feb 02, 2020 10:26 am

This support link from Microsoft might be helpful. I have not tried this myself. The "Fix it for me" link has not worked for many years. You would need to be comfortable with editing the registry manually. Perhaps someone else has tried this.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -media-cen



Weak TV Signal message is erroneously displayed in Windows 7 Media Center
Applies to: Windows 7 EnterpriseWindows 7 Home PremiumWindows 7 Professional More
________________________________________
Symptoms
________________________________________
Consider the following scenario:
• You have a Windows 7 computer configured with a digital TV tuner.
• Windows Media Center is configured to use the digital TV tuner.
• You launch Media Center and then choose Live TV to watch TV.
• You change the channel.
In this scenario, soon after changing to a certain channel you may consistently see a message that resembles the following:

Weak TV Signal

The TV tuner is unable to receive the signal for the channel you have selected. Adjustment to the signal may be necessary to receive this channel reliably. Please try to select this channel again. If the problem persists, contact your TV service provider.

This message is displayed even though the signal is not weak and there does not appear to be any noticeable dropped frames or loss in video quality.

Cause
________________________________________
This message can be erroneously displayed by Media Center under certain circumstances.
Resolution
________________________________________
To resolve this issue, use one of the following methods to modify the registry.

Warning Serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly by using Registry Editor or by using another method. These problems might require that you reinstall the operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that these problems can be solved. Modify the registry at your own risk.


To have us modify the registry for you, go to the "Fix it for me" section. If you prefer to modify the registry yourself, go to the "Let me fix it myself" section.

Fix it for me


To modify the registry automatically, click the Fix it button or link. Then click Run in the File Download dialog box, and follow the steps in the Fix it wizard.



Notes
• Exit Windows Media Center before you run this Fix it solution.
• This wizard may be in English only. However, the automatic fix also works for other language versions of Windows.
• If you are not on the computer that has the problem, save the Fix it solution to a flash drive or a CD and then run it on the computer that has the problem.
• After running the Fix it solution, if the PC is not restarted automatically, shut down Windows and restart the PC.

Then, go to the "Did this fix the problem?" section.


Let me fix it myself
To resolve this issue yourself, use the following steps to modify the registry.
1. Exit Windows Media Center.
2. Click Start, type regedit in the Search box and press ENTER. If you are prompted with a User Account Control message, click Yes to continue.
3. Locate and then select the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectShow\Debug
4. From the Registry Editor menu, click on Edit->New->Key. Change the name of the new key to BDA.
5. Click on the newly created BDA key. From the Registry Editor menu, click on Edit->New->Key. Change the name of the new key to MSNP.
6. Click on the newly created MSNP key. From the Registry Editor menu, click on Edit->New->DWORD (32-bit) Value. Change the name of the new value to WeakSignalDroppedThreshold.
7. Right-click on WeakSignalDroppedThreshold and then click Modify. In the Value data box, type 32 and click on OK. (Leave the "Base" setting at the default, Hexadecimal.)
8. On the Registry Editor menu, click on File and then Exit to exit Registry Editor.
9. Shut down Windows and restart your PC.



Did this fix the problem?
• Check whether the problem is fixed. If the problem is fixed, you are finished with this section. If the problem is not fixed, you can contact support.
• We would appreciate your feedback. To provide feedback or to report any issues with this solution, please leave a comment on the "Fix it for me" blog or send us an email.
More Information
________________________________________
The registry value WeakSignalDroppedThreshold specifies the maximum percentage of dropped packets before Media Center displays the Weak TV Signal message. If the registry value is not set, the default value is 10%. The steps in the Resolution section specify to set it to 50% (32 hexadecimal). The side effect of setting this to a higher value is that it may in some cases prevent a valid Weak TV Signal message from appearing while watching Live TV in Media Center. However, in the case of a valid weak signal it may be obvious to the user, due to dropped frames or other video artifacts, that there is a signal strength problem for that particular channel.

Post Reply